HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:03 PM
Emress
United States, SD, Rapid City
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts
Question
diy rc vehicle design

I plan on designing my own RC SCT or truggy with aluminum or CF/GF only (a few exceptions) and wanted your opinions. for ex: what parts should be which material. CF would be the best for the base plate. Aluminum for the shafts. steel gears etc. waterproof.

another thought was having steering in the front and back. has anyone done this or bought one? I think i'd improve turns, and general stability. Although, it would need some tuning for the separate servos.

I am new to cars, but i have done my fair share of reading and watching youtube videos. Plus, im awesome at CAD.
sirbow2 is offline Find More Posts by sirbow2
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:10 PM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
12,911 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbow2 View Post
another thought was having steering in the front and back. has anyone done this or bought one? I think i'd improve turns, and general stability. Although, it would need some tuning for the separate servos.

Nice idea, quite an undertaking, but you sound like you could be up to the challenge.

4 wheel steering is nice for tight slow turns, but when going fast, it can actually work against you. First, you need to have the rear steering assy fully slop-free, or the car will do unwanted 180s at higher speeds. Also the added steering might increase the chance on grip-rolls, in fast corners.

Technically it's a nice feature, but if you want to go fast, it's not recommended.
SoloProFan is online now Find More Posts by SoloProFan
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:30 PM
Emress
Joined Nov 2011
1,936 Posts