SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 14, 2013, 02:45 PM
FloridaFlyBob's Avatar
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Nov 2011
1,320 Posts
Discussion
4 servo Wing Biplane on a DX8

I've been doing some research on how to set up the servos on a 1/5 Waco Biplane and have been getting conflicting opions. I have a AR8000 rx, and I have it set up now as a 2 servo wing and a 2 servo elevator. The rudder is a pull/pull on 1 channel. I have my kill switch on the gear channel and the aileron on the top wing on one channel with a Y and the lower wing on another channel with another Y which uses all the channels I have on the RX. The DX8 doesn't support 4 servo wings and I wouldn't have enough channels anyway. The servos are HS625mg's except the rudder is a hs5965mg. I know I can use matchbox's with would be another $150 for 2. What is the down side of using 2 Y's on the wings. Each control surface has 1 servo so there won't be 2 fighting each other. The HS625mg servos are analog servos
FloridaFlyBob is online now Find More Posts by FloridaFlyBob
Last edited by FloridaFlyBob; Jan 14, 2013 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:46 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,437 Posts
The only advantage I can see to using the matchbox is the ability to fine tune subtrim and endpoints but I doubt there would be enough difference to matter. I would just use the Y.
600Bob is online now Find More Posts by 600Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:55 AM
FloridaFlyBob's Avatar
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Nov 2011
1,320 Posts
Thanks bob, I didnt think with 8 channels i would need more, but 18 would be nice.
FloridaFlyBob is online now Find More Posts by FloridaFlyBob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:24 AM
Registered User
S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
Joined May 2005
720 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstekeur View Post
I've been doing some research on how to set up the servos on a 1/5 Waco Biplane and have been getting conflicting opions. I have a AR8000 rx, and I have it set up now as a 2 servo wing and a 2 servo elevator. The rudder is a pull/pull on 1 channel. I have my kill switch on the gear channel and the aileron on the top wing on one channel with a Y and the lower wing on another channel with another Y which uses all the channels I have on the RX. The DX8 doesn't support 4 servo wings and I wouldn't have enough channels anyway. (deleted)
Remenber, that when a transmitter supports a 4 servo wing that refers to a wing with 4 servos operating the following surfaces........ left aileron, left flap, right flap, right aileron. It doesn't mean a biplane with 2 left ailerons, and 2 right ailerons.

Ken
Ken Barnes is offline Find More Posts by Ken Barnes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:58 PM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,223 Posts
I set up my pitts python just as you have and have never had an issue lower on a channel and the upper wing on another...I am a Futaba guy I think I am 1 and 6
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 10:53 PM
Gas Only
Fokker DII's Avatar
USA So. Cal.
Joined Sep 2010
1,091 Posts
I fly a GP Giant Aeromaster with a DX8. I run all 4 ailerons on a single channel with a double "Y". I fly most everyday for several months and never had a problem with it.
BTW, the servos are HS 625mg's
Fokker DII is offline Find More Posts by Fokker DII
Last edited by Fokker DII; Jan 15, 2013 at 10:56 PM. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:05 AM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,223 Posts
You can fly off of a single channel.....but with two channels if you loose a y you still have some ailerons
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:49 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Leander
Joined Sep 2003
2,802 Posts
I use dual Y's on my sig sundancer, 4 servo ailerons. Works fine. But I also do it using a split power bus. The servos are on a separate battery. Receiver has a dedicated battery. No ignition, G-62 mag.
Edwin
edwin1 is online now Find More Posts by edwin1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:57 PM
FloridaFlyBob's Avatar
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Nov 2011
1,320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
You can fly off of a single channel.....but with two channels if you loose a y you still have some ailerons
I have the top wing on 1 channel and the bottom wing on the other. I feel safer with 2
FloridaFlyBob is online now Find More Posts by FloridaFlyBob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:18 PM
Gas Only
Fokker DII's Avatar
USA So. Cal.
Joined Sep 2010
1,091 Posts
+1. whatever you are most comfortable with works best for you.
Fokker DII is offline Find More Posts by Fokker DII
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DX8 on 4 digit electric glider any good? arobotbrain Electric Plane Talk 11 Jul 27, 2012 05:11 PM
Question Tips on installing the top wing on a biplane with only two hands? 56S Scale Kit/Scratch Built 6 Jan 09, 2009 12:46 PM
Discussion Throttle on Ch3 with 4-Servo Wing FlyingW Radios 4 Jul 21, 2006 04:34 PM
Graphite 3.1m full D-box (4 servo wing) versus Graphite 3.45m D-box (4 servo wing)? bfraser Electric Sailplanes 9 Jul 07, 2003 01:44 PM
9Z and butterfly help on 4 servo wing. Giovanni Day Electric Sailplanes 0 Jul 28, 2002 01:44 AM