Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:42 AM
Valiant Poultry
United States, MI, Jackson
Joined Apr 2012
941 Posts
Question
Neptune a Good First Submarine??

Hey guys.

I'm looking into the Thunder Tiger Neptune, but I have ZERO experience with RC submarines. I've got experience with everything else, but no submarines at all.

I'm just wondering if it's a good product to get my feet wet in this aspect of the hobby?? I'd be using it in water that's about 5 feet deep and crystal clear off of the dock at the boat club.

Anything that needs to be upgraded to it right off the bat? Or is it fairly shipshape right out of the box??

I don't have a ton of spare time, so modding things is do-able, but I'd rather spend my time sailing/driving instead of wrenching and cutting.

Thanks!
Jeff
Gimpdiggity is offline Find More Posts by Gimpdiggity
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:44 AM
Joined Nov 2010
27 Posts
It's a log in the water - boring! Get something exciting like Moebius' Skipjack
thunderguts is offline Find More Posts by thunderguts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:07 AM
Valiant Poultry
Joined Apr 2012
941 Posts
I'm not interested at all in attempting to build a kit for my first submarine.

And honestly, with the stress that I deal with every day...the more boring (to me, relaxing) the better.

I have my most fun on the water with my Bristol Bay, the most fun in the air with my Night Vapor, and the most fun on the ground with my trail trucks (SCX-10, Crawler King, Summit in low gear).
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:38 PM
Man from Atlantis
London
Joined Nov 2003
906 Posts
If it's a ready to run sub, aside from cheap toy subs, which are pretty grim, then really the Neptune is the only game in town, unless you're willing to drop some serious wedge on a custom turnkey build.

But do bear in mind that submarines are the most high maintenance R/C vehicles out there, so you will need to strip down and maintain the beast from the time to time if it's to remain reliable.