HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 21, 2003, 07:26 AM
sydney
Joined Apr 2001
22 Posts
first take off, but my corona kept spinning clockwise

Hi all,

I'm new to helis, but after reading so many great reviews and viewing the movie files from liteMachines I bit the bullet and got myself one!

To cut the story short, after following the helpful hints in rcgroups.com (Thanks all) I've finally finished it. Into the garage I went to try a little air hopping and to my surprise It started to spin clockwise even before it got off the ground (I've got trainers at the moment).

I've got the stock corona, with the futaba gy240 mounted on the shelf I built just behind the rotor and the wires exiting the box towards the TR. After reading some articles relating to spinning I tried one of the suggestions to put the gyro to normal (not reversed)...I looked but it's already in Normal pos.

After much tinkering and making sure the TR isn't slipping I tried putting the AVCS to "on", the DIR to "rev", and Gain to 75-80% ... and that seem to cure it...I hope.

My question is, is this the right setting to do? I read that having the DIR on rev will cause it spin.

Since majority of you members out there have a similar setup what setting do you have on your gy240?

Anyway, I was so excited, and at the same time very nervous on my first little hover ... mind you it only lasted for 5 seconds but it was getting too close to my garage wall! Cant wait to get to open land!

Oh yeah ... I got one boom strike after dumping the throttle too quickly, I heard a snap and saw some peices of wood fly off .. lucky it was only the balsa wood I taped on the boom! phew... thank you rcgroup for that little hint!

anyway .. gotta sleep .. work tomorrow.

Happy flying all.
Vic
vic2001 is offline Find More Posts by vic2001
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 21, 2003, 08:20 AM
Hooked Heli Human
Western NC
Joined Dec 2002
1,556 Posts