HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:15 PM
Utah, USA
Joined Jun 2007
615 Posts
Build Log
EON Olympia 2b by Aussie RC Plans

This is my first build log, and will be a 1/4 scale EON Olympia 2b.
Below are a couple of photos of the particular aircraft I will model.

Scott
shinck is offline Find More Posts by shinck
Last edited by shinck; Jan 19, 2014 at 06:38 PM. Reason: added photo copyright
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:17 PM
Utah, USA
Joined Jun 2007
615 Posts
A little history

The 1939 DFS Meise (Olympia) was designed and selected for the 1940 Olympic games, which were never held. The design was slightly modified by Elliots of Newbury in England after the war. This particular example was completed in 1958 and is serial number 115 of approximately 150. Registered in Britain as BGA 1539, it has over 3,880 hours of air time and 10,740 launches.

I have always liked the Olympia IIb and had started updating the Cliff Charlesworth wing plan for a more modern airfoil. Then in September of 2010 a couple of guys in Australia started a 3D CAD-designed Oly project. So I am going to tell you that story before the build starts.
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:23 PM
Utah, USA
Joined Jun 2007
615 Posts
Model background

CAD designed, engineered and prototype built by Shane Williams
Prototype laser cutting by Andy Smith, as well as CAD wing and tail design
Both of these gentlemen live in Victoria, Australia and run www.rcplans.com.au

The kits are now in limited production. If you are interested either go to the above web site or email andy@rcplans.com.au for more information. Tell them Scott sent you (hey, it can't hurt!).
There is a possibility that the kits may be cut in different areas (such as the US) to lower excessive shipping costs.

The original build log for the prototype is at
www.rcplans.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=107

May 2013 update: the original site, and build log, went down and may or may not be reconstructed.