HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:16 PM
Joined Jan 2013
19 Posts
Discussion
My 9118 heli won't hover.. is it a duff gyro

Hi guys, I'm kinda new to this so please bear with me.

I've done all the mods most often mentioned but I cannot get my 9118 to lift off and hover, I should add this is inside the house so there's no cross winds etc.
I've read much about the toilet pan effect and have done all the that I can but still it just wants to swirl around and around in a big loop.
I have all the usual control, backward forwards left and right which I have to use to stop it crashing.
Is it possible the gyro isn't working?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
jazzman22 is offline Find More Posts by jazzman22
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:16 PM
scratch-built
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Apr 2007
990 Posts

Check to see if either one, or both of the big spur gears Is loose on the shaft. That's what I've found to be the cause on mine when it just wants to sit on the ground and spin around.

If thats not the problem, Then I don't know what to tell you to look for.

J
Jim Lee is offline Find More Posts by Jim Lee
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:20 AM
Joined Jan 2013
19 Posts

Thanks Jim for your reply.
I think I've miss led you in as much as it does lift off okay but simply will not hover in one spot, all it wants to do is drift away in any direction, though typically in a big circle, with me keep twitching the controls to stop in smashing into the walls...it's a pretty big room so there's plenty of room to fly.

Mike.
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:56 AM
scratch-built
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Apr 2007
990 Posts

Do you know anyone else that has a DH9118?, If so try using their Tx to fly your DH9118 Heli, If it still does the same thing, Bind your Tx to their Heli and If the problem goes away, Then You probably have a bad PCB.

If it is the Printed Curcuit Board, Or Tx, You can get replacement(s) here.