HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 09, 2013, 02:34 AM
Slovenia
Joined Oct 2012
23 Posts
Discussion
Building 50'' Orkney Express from Robbe

Hello guys. i am building a 50'' Orkney express from robbe. i received a kit from my old friend, who had it on the basement. it is a lot of plastic and i am building it up. but, i stuck with one thing. i don't know what motor should i use. well, 2 motors. i am thinkig of using motorcycle 12V battery, so motor should be 12V. and what is with esc?or bec, because i need to go forward and backward.
I already build a weedwacker 52'' boat from scratch, so i have some experience with gas motors, but very little with electric, so please, help me out a little bit. boat should go fast, not realy fast, and i want to have some torque.

regards

http://www.smc-noris.de/orkney.htm
rakec is offline Find More Posts by rakec
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 09, 2013, 02:40 PM
United States, MI, Macomb
Joined Nov 2006
1,232 Posts
If your going brushed, I would suggest a pair 700 brushed motors with a 35mm to 40mm prop. Your could use a pair of 550's like in the ProBoat Pt-109, but they may not be enough.

I would think a pair of Traxxas Titan 775's or Mabuchi 775's You will need two Traxxas 16.8v ESC's. There are other brands. The older 14.8v Traxxas may work just the same, but you can go Lipo with the 16.8v

Get some Lipo batteries and a charger. Stop screwing around with lead acid batteries. Do you cary around a motorcycle battery for you laptop? What the heck is it with the motorcycle batteries? I have one to start my snowmobile, and it's a pain in the butt! Takes eight hours to charge the darn thing!!

11.1v 3s Lipo battery would be a good choice for brushed 700's.

Two Astro Flight 25 motors would work, but those are $390.00 each. Nice motors, but a little out of reach for most.

Graupner has the 700BB, but the price is just stupid for something that is out-of-date and almost obsolete.

http://kershawdesigns.com/index.htm