HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:00 PM
Registered User
United States, AL, Montgomery
Joined Mar 2005
71 Posts
Discussion
Ice 100 cuts off at high throttle

I am using a new Hacker A40-10s motor with a used castle ice 100 v1 esc When I get to full throttle it cuts out on the newer castle firmware it pulses at full throttle. I am using turnigy 4s 2650 and 3000 mah batteries. Would this battery size make the esc hit it's lvc at full throttle? Any ideas? Thanks for any help.
delta2001 is offline Find More Posts by delta2001
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:07 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
The Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Joined Jun 2004
5,175 Posts
More than likely. Now to really find out you need a Wattmeter, or at least a voltmeter to see how low your voltage is dropping at full throttle.
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 07:24 PM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,838 Posts
That ESC has a logger built into it, you can look at the voltage there, can't you?

The CC ESCs that log data are logging data just for the ESC, not for the entire power system. So they are generally presenting numbers that will not be the same as you would see from a inline watt meter for example. In fact, the Watt readings can vary by as much as 20% or so.

But we all need to have a watt meter anyway, right? Or an eLogger, or a Hyperion Emeter II, or something similar.

But it certainly sounds like the LVC is kicking in. The difference in cutting out and pulsing could be that the first was with the LVC set for a hard cutoff (full stop) and the second it was set for a soft cutoff (pulsing).

Jack
jackerbes is offline Find More Posts by jackerbes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 08:05 PM
Registered User
United States, AL, Montgomery
Joined Mar 2005
71 Posts
I just ran it up to log the data but received an error code from the software but when I throttled down I got 2 beeps from the esc which shows low voltage I believe. The pack I'm using tested at 52% full. So, would a larger mah battery pack fix this?
delta2001 is offline Find More Posts by delta2001
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Dr Kiwi's Avatar
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,197 Posts
Larger and/or better quality might resolve the issue.
Dr Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 02:40 AM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,179 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by delta2001 View Post
Would this battery size make the esc hit it's lvc at full throttle?
Only if the motor was ever-propped.

What prop are you using?

Quote:
The pack I'm using tested at 52% full.
You should test with a fully charged battery. Why? because if it's cold, a partially discharged battery may not be able to hold its voltage up at high discharge rates.
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 11:51 AM
Registered User
United States, AL, Montgomery
Joined Mar 2005
71 Posts
Thanks for the help guys. I will check the data on everything but it looks like the previous owner had the lcv set too high on the castlelink.
delta2001 is offline Find More Posts by delta2001
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Down With The 10% Throttle Cut and High Arm Northstar32 Multirotor Talk 3 May 07, 2012 04:59 AM
Question SA 2010-02 Castle ICE 100 "failed cut off" ?? LandCruiser Castle Creations 2 Oct 19, 2010 11:07 PM
Help! Receiver cut-off at half throttle Tcko Micro Helis 4 May 03, 2007 09:38 PM
Help! HB CP2 power cuts out at high throttle dhand62362 Micro Helis 5 Apr 07, 2006 12:51 PM
Pixie 20 cuts off at mid throttle slobogo Power Systems 5 Jan 21, 2005 11:40 AM