HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 05, 2013, 05:23 PM
I'm all about that bass
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Feb 2004
15,218 Posts
Question
What is the best way to reel in winch line?

Hello fellow sailplane enthusiasts,

I have been flying RC gliders for almost 20 years now but I haven't been overly experienced with winches. I have been to lots of contests and shagged lots of chutes but most of my personal flying has been from hand launch or high start. I now have a fixer upper winch that I flew from about half a dozen times last year.

The way I have reeled the line back on the winch is a method I think I have seen done in the past. I take the brake off and put a foot on the winch line and kind of slowly reel it in by holding the winch pedal and sort of tapping it in. But that method I think probably isn't the most safe and it tends to leave little groves in the bottom of my tennis shoes. Suggestions for a better method? I think I have seen clubs with some sort of heavy duty gloves. Years ago I used to work in a factory on a hot press and we had these heavy duty gloves for handling hot sheets of aluminum that I bet would be about perfect for this sort of thing. If the gloves is the best method where do I get the gloves?

Thanks!

Ryan
rdwoebke is offline Find More Posts by rdwoebke
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2013, 05:58 PM
Mark LSF # 3792
United States, TX, Garland
Joined Nov 2008
695 Posts
We use heavy duty leather gloves in my club, similar to welding gloves. They're real cheap if you have a coupon for Harbor Freight. Protect the hands and wrists well. Also, they help with the soles of the shoes. BTW, they're not as abrasive as the ground, might make the line last longer too.

Mark
Soarmark is offline Find More Posts by Soarmark
Old Jan 05, 2013, 06:43 PM
Play loud, Fly high
Vincennes,IN USA
Joined Apr 2007
653 Posts
Line retrieval