HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 05, 2013, 03:48 PM
Joined Jan 2013
3 Posts
Help!
Night Vapor engine/prop squeals then looses thrust

I'm a noob here and have just dipped my toe into the hobby for the first time in about 30 years. On day two of my return I have run into a problem with my new Night Vapor. After flying it quite a bit today, I started to hear a chirping sound that varied with throttle setting. While flying it back to where I was standing, the chirp turned into a squeal and then the a/c lost power (still squealing) and descended into the grass. I retrieved it and then slowly advanced the throttle to start troubleshooting. When it just starts to turn, the prop/gears/engine sound fine. At about 10% throw on the throttle, the squeal starts to build and if any more power is added, the airframe shudders and there is a noticeable loss in engine power.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to start replacing parts?
tasksaturated is offline Find More Posts by tasksaturated
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2013, 04:30 PM
United States, IL, Manteno
Joined Dec 2006
672 Posts
Is the prop tight on the shaft? If not, it may be cracked or stripped.

If the prop is good, check the gear on the prop shaft for a crack. If it's cracked, it It might work OK up to a point, then start slipping with increased power.

It's also possible that the motor is on the way out.

Hope it's something simple!

Don
Digital Don is offline Find More Posts by Digital Don
Old Jan 05, 2013, 05:36 PM
Or current resident
USA, FL, Tampa
Joined Jul 2002
4,749 Posts
Sounds like maybe the nut on the back of the prop shaft is too tight and caused the gear to come loose on the shaft as Don suggested.
Could also be the prop shaft and motor bushings just need some oil.
I've had both of those things happen.

Glenn
glewis is offline Find More Posts by glewis
Old Jan 05, 2013, 11:37 PM
Micro enthusiast
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Aug 2011
771 Posts