HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 03, 2013, 09:16 AM
Joined Jan 2013
15 Posts
Discussion
Status of Programmable OSD?

I'm brand new to the FPV scene and my goal is to build a FPV system for 1/16 scale tanks that battle using the Tamiya IR system.
The IR system uses an "Apple" that is placed on top of the turret with an IR sensor. The barrel has an IR emitter and the goal is to hunt and kill the opposing tanks by firing at their Apple.
I am designing an Apple that has the IR Senser and a small FPV wide angle cameral mounted on a pan system with the LED "HIT ALARM" located at the top of the Apple.
The Apple is approximately 1 1/3" wide and up to 2" tall.
Mounted next to the barrel will be another FPV cameral (pinhole) that is slaved to the tank's cannon for elevation control.
By using a video switcher, I will be able to view the battlefield from the "Commander's Perspective" (APPLE) and when spotting an enemy tank, switch views to the "Gunner's Perspective" (Barrel).
QUESTION:
I am looking for a programmable OSD that I can configure the Gunner's view that would have Reticles on the Scope view along with battery condition, etc. or have an OSD programmed to do so.
The real goal is to be able to insert a video overlay of the battlefield and drop in "virtual" World War II imagery such as burned out buildings, etc. Ah, maybe someday.
Anyone play World of Tanks?
If so, you know what I'm after!
Here's a picture of some of our Tiger's at our last battle at DAK and some of the tanks (see our site at ...desertarmor.com.
Thanks for everyone's help!
tjs
tsull is offline Find More Posts by tsull
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2013, 10:52 AM
Gravity is patient............
Joined Mar 2006
1,831 Posts
You need an open sourced osd or make an agreement with one of the manufacturers to to custom code the graphics for you. I don't think the background overlay would be possible in real time unless you have Universal studios backing your project lol.