HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:07 AM
lownslow
windrnone's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Canaveral
Joined Nov 2011
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalecheek1 View Post
MAYBEEE that is BECAUSE UUU RRR not ( GROOVEEE ) enough YOURSELF,,,,, .... HOT LINE NUMBER for NONGROVEEE pilots-1 800 555 0001,,,,call now groove specialist standy by.
DALE, I called, they said since I MISSED WOODSTOCK, i have fallen FROM THE GROOOVE!!!!!!!

They did suggest I attend their ONLINE GROOOVE NOOOB SEMINARS and catch up............

FUNNY THING......I thought I was there ????????
windrnone is offline Find More Posts by windrnone
Last edited by windrnone; Feb 24, 2013 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2007
40 Posts
hello guys just recieved on of these visionairs..question? does the gyro start working after the binding process or is there programming needed?...seems the quality is very nice for a foamy....i fly one atr at friends hobby shop last week and wow flys like a larger plane...well hope you guys can answer my questions ..thanks pat
ricardinho is offline Find More Posts by ricardinho
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 08:02 AM
lownslow
windrnone's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Canaveral
Joined Nov 2011
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardinho View Post
hello guys just recieved on of these visionairs..question? does the gyro start working after the binding process or is there programming needed?...seems the quality is very nice for a foamy....i fly one atr at friends hobby shop last week and wow flys like a larger plane...well hope you guys can answer my questions ..thanks pat
Gyro should be all set, you must advance the throttle to turn it on................
windrnone is offline Find More Posts by windrnone
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
3,667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardinho View Post
hello guys just recieved on of these visionairs..question? does the gyro start working after the binding process or is there programming needed?...seems the quality is very nice for a foamy....i fly one atr at friends hobby shop last week and wow flys like a larger plane...well hope you guys can answer my questions ..thanks pat
Hate to sound a bit rude, but there is enough going on with the different settings built into this one that a read through of the manual would be well spent. It's ready to go as shipped, but there are quite a few transmitter settings that need to be made and then you have at the least four different possible set ups available to choose from to fly with. I may be a bit dense, but took me more than one read to feel like I understood just what does what.
bobly is online now Find More Posts by bobly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:03 AM
ldf
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwindram View Post
I tried reducing the gain in the AS3X system with the radio as per the instructions for the receiver, and though reducing the gain reduced the severity of the oscillation, it did not eliminate it, neither at the zero setting, or even at full negative value.
cwindram, I see that you have managed to enter the AS3X settings. I have tried to do this but am at a total loss. I think I am following the manual properly but can't seem to get into setup mode.

I am using a DX8 and downloaded the setup from HH and all works properly. I want to set all of the axis to zero so that a couple of our club 3D experts can fly the plane without stabilization so that they can get a feel of how the plane would react when doing certain manoeuvres.

I could simply just drop in another receiver for the test, but thought it would be easier to just reduce all of the gains to zero and when finished put them back to normal, what ever that is.
ldf is offline Find More Posts by ldf
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:11 AM
Central Scrutinizer
cwindram's Avatar
United States, MA
Joined Dec 2012
124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldf View Post
cwindram, I see that you have managed to enter the AS3X settings. I have tried to do this but am at a total loss. I think I am following the manual properly but can't seem to get into setup mode.

I am using a DX8 and downloaded the setup from HH and all works properly. I want to set all of the axis to zero so that a couple of our club 3D experts can fly the plane without stabilization so that they can get a feel of how the plane would react when doing certain manoeuvres.

I could simply just drop in another receiver for the test, but thought it would be easier to just reduce all of the gains to zero and when finished put them back to normal, what ever that is.
ldf, I'm a pretty new flyer, but I just followed the instructions on the manual for the AR635 - my Visionaire didn't come with the AR635 manual - I had to download that from the Spektrum site. Then I followed the instructions for entering the gain for the AS3X by applying certain stick positions while the RX is powered on. I was able to enter and adjust the gain, but it took a while to get my head around the whole process, and some close attention to see what was going on - the red, blue, and green lights on the RX show what's happening with the gain. Please note I am using the dX6i - don't know whether this would make a difference or not.
cwindram is offline Find More Posts by cwindram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:22 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldf View Post
cwindram, I see that you have managed to enter the AS3X settings. I have tried to do this but am at a total loss. I think I am following the manual properly but can't seem to get into setup mode.

I am using a DX8 and downloaded the setup from HH and all works properly. I want to set all of the axis to zero so that a couple of our club 3D experts can fly the plane without stabilization so that they can get a feel of how the plane would react when doing certain manoeuvres.

I could simply just drop in another receiver for the test, but thought it would be easier to just reduce all of the gains to zero and when finished put them back to normal, what ever that is.
STOP!
Do yourself a huge favor - leave all the settings as is and set your DX8 as the book recommends - about 25% expo
when the tx is done - add a GOOD 2200ma battery the one it comes with is OK but there are stronger 220ma packs on the market .
if you don't like the prop - swap to a 12x6 APC .
When the model is ready to fly - bind it and try all control throws but NOT power .
-then blip power to engage the AS3X- note that surfaces countermove - on both sport mode and 3 D- (retract switch)
however throws are different!
fly the model in sportmode first - then in 3D
I don't care how proficient your 3D friends are - the system as is does not interfer with their skills -
it will only help em.
reset the rx as you want but the stock setup is the one you will likely prefer .
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:29 AM
ldf
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson View Post
STOP!
Do yourself a huge favor - leave all the settings as is and set your DX8 as the book recommends - about 25% expo
when the tx is done - add a GOOD 2200ma battery the one it comes with is OK but there are stronger 220ma packs on the market .
if you don't like the prop - swap to a 12x6 APC .
When the model is ready to fly - bind it and try all control throws but NOT power .
-then blip power to engage the AS3X- note that surfaces countermove - on both sport mode and 3 D- (retract switch)
however throws are different!
fly the model in sportmode first - then in 3D
I don't care how proficient your 3D friends are - the syatem as is does not interfer with their skills -
it will only help em.
reset the rx as you want but the stock setup is the one you will likely prefer .
I got all of that. The plane has had about 10 flights and all is good but there are 2 issues here. One is that I should be able to change the gains, or at least know how, and the other is simply a test that can't hurt.

PS: I am a huge fan of this plane and will be getting a second one just to have as a standby incase I have a mishap and it's out of commission for the day. That way I can just keep on flying!
ldf is offline Find More Posts by ldf
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:41 AM
ldf
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwindram View Post
ldf, I'm a pretty new flyer, but I just followed the instructions on the manual for the AR635 - my Visionaire didn't come with the AR635 manual - I had to download that from the Spektrum site. Then I followed the instructions for entering the gain for the AS3X by applying certain stick positions while the RX is powered on. I was able to enter and adjust the gain, but it took a while to get my head around the whole process, and some close attention to see what was going on - the red, blue, and green lights on the RX show what's happening with the gain. Please note I am using the dX6i - don't know whether this would make a difference or not.
Thanks, cwindram

I tried those stick positions, but I still couldn't get it into setup mode. I must be missing a step. I started on page 10 because and then to page 11. I could not get a solid light.
ldf is offline Find More Posts by ldf
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:44 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,487 Posts
OK- sounds lik you are havin fun with it.
You might consider getting a 635 rx and retrofitting another similar model- preferrably one you have been flying -
The rx does not help anyone point the model in the right direction
just helps hold it where you point it.
from what I can tell it also does not interfer with you pointing it in other directions
- it also makes landings much smoother.
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:55 AM
Central Scrutinizer
cwindram's Avatar
United States, MA
Joined Dec 2012
124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldf View Post
Thanks, cwindram

I tried those stick positions, but I still couldn't get it into setup mode. I must be missing a step. I started on page 10 because and then to page 11. I could not get a solid light.
ldf, one must first select an axis to adjust the gain on, this is shown on page 12-13, then back to page 11 to adjust the gain setting for that axis. I hope this helps.
cwindram is offline Find More Posts by cwindram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
3,667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldf View Post
cwindram, I see that you have managed to enter the AS3X settings. I have tried to do this but am at a total loss. I think I am following the manual properly but can't seem to get into setup mode.

I am using a DX8 and downloaded the setup from HH and all works properly. I want to set all of the axis to zero so that a couple of our club 3D experts can fly the plane without stabilization so that they can get a feel of how the plane would react when doing certain manoeuvres.

I could simply just drop in another receiver for the test, but thought it would be easier to just reduce all of the gains to zero and when finished put them back to normal, what ever that is.
I'm not sure just swapping out the receiver might not be the simplest and most straight forward. Being the inquisitive sorts me and several of my flying friends really want to check out the difference on this one with and without the as3x. Personally, I have several of the umx as3x equipped planes and fly them quite a lot, but still go back and fly the non as3x versions frequently also. The system helps the little planes in the wind for sure, and makes some things much easier to do and for those makes me look better than I am, but I still have to decide for myself what I think about it in a larger plane.
bobly is online now Find More Posts by bobly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:05 AM
Central Scrutinizer
cwindram's Avatar
United States, MA
Joined Dec 2012
124 Posts
I myself am still having trouble understanding setting the rates for this plane. Quique says in a previous post just to use the rates that are programmed into the RX by activating the Gear switch. My gear switch on DX6i activate rates opposite to what Quique referred to... postion 0 appears to activate a high rate of travel in the control surfaces, and postion 1 lower rates, but rudder has full movement in both positions, and elevator has very little movement on position 1.

Do I simply use the Gear switch to control rates? Or do I also program my own DR/Expo as I normally would - I usually assign all DR/Expo in combination to the rudder switch. When I did this originally without using the Gear switch, the control surfaces moved according to my programming. However, the Gear switch also controls the amount of gain that the RX is applying to the AS3X system in addition to controlling rates. I'm sorry to say I'm a bit confused at this point. Haven't had a chance to fly the plane yet. If there's anyone who's successfully flown the plane using the DX6i and understands how to best select for rates, I would greatly appreciate any input.
cwindram is offline Find More Posts by cwindram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:15 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,487 Posts
Your setup is working correctly-if you have not changed anything
The setup you note is basically a setting which is easier to fly (lots less elevator and a little less aileron)
change nothing - go by the book for the Dx6i and do fly it in the low throw elevator mode first !
On my DX8 - rx switch forward is high rates.
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 11:26 AM
Central Scrutinizer
cwindram's Avatar
United States, MA
Joined Dec 2012
124 Posts
Thanks, Richard - I sure do appreciate your input. Just wanted to make sure I'm on track here. I expected all of the channel rates to be reduced when the Gear switch was put to low position, but it just seemed as if only the elevator was affected - I didn't measure the throws to confirm, and travel measurements of actual throws are not shown in the manual as they are for many models. I have reset the RX to factory gain settings, as well as the specified "3D Computer TX" so I think I should be all set to fly when the day comes for the maiden.

I do have an apparent problem with the rudder servo, which is oscillating very quickly regardless of any setting changes - there appears to be slop in the servo motor, and Horizon Hobby is sending a new one. So, I won't be able to do a flight test until that's changed out, ... it's annoying trying to do all my ground tests with the rudder vibrating.
cwindram is offline Find More Posts by cwindram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Parkzone's New Habu 2 EDF ChuckTseeker Foamy EDFs 4165 Jul 09, 2014 09:08 AM
For Sale New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jul 12, 2012 12:26 AM
Sold New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 23, 2012 09:10 AM