HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 03:53 AM
Can't fly 3D for toffee ...
United Kingdom, Taunton
Joined Dec 2012
1,269 Posts
Thanks for the feedback. Unlike Jimmy's video, mine is the right aileron and it oscillated slightly but quickly around the neutral.

It did it two or three times after I adjusted the horn but has not happened since!

I have tried leaving it a few minutes and overnight - each time I start it, it's fine. Is it possible it didn't like the force required to move the servo arm but it has now settled down to being happy?
GoAround is offline Find More Posts by GoAround
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:04 AM
God is my pilot
JimTMich's Avatar
United States, MI, Kalamazoo Township
Joined Aug 2006
2,436 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Var. View Post
Please, for the love of all that is not corporate and unholy, sell me an airframe in a separate package at an ARF price. I wish more people would demand this from them.
My solution has been to order a fuse, wing set, tail feathers and cowel.... Then add my own quality electronics.
JimTMich is offline Find More Posts by JimTMich
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:22 AM
Registered User
ChuckTseeker's Avatar
Adelaide Plains Australia
Joined Dec 2007
3,470 Posts
WOW! they just never stop

cheers chuck

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1820862

ChuckTseeker is online now Find More Posts by ChuckTseeker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:00 AM
lownslow
windrnone's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Canaveral
Joined Nov 2011
338 Posts
Chuck you are killing my 401K !!!! Please stop!!

Jimmyjet, did you try swapping servos at the "Y" connector ???
windrnone is offline Find More Posts by windrnone
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:34 AM
fly and then fly some more!
nickelbn1's Avatar
Springdale, AR
Joined Dec 2006
2,178 Posts
I have always been told with my other 3D planes to NOT use a Y connector for the ailerons. You need to plug them into separate channels on the rx. I had issues on another plane until I did this. but if this is how parkzone designed this plane, then I wouldnt think it should cause a problem. I would still put them into separate channels.

+1 on the airframe only option, but I know that goes against what Parkzone tries to do with their products. They try to make things simple so you can "just fly".
nickelbn1 is offline Find More Posts by nickelbn1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:50 AM
Horizon Hobby Employee
Mahomet, Illinois
Joined Aug 2007
2,297 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickelbn1 View Post
I would still put them into separate channels.
Won't work with the AR635. Gotta Y the ailerons.
Dave Eichstedt is offline Find More Posts by Dave Eichstedt
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:10 AM
Can't fly 3D for toffee ...
United Kingdom, Taunton
Joined Dec 2012
1,269 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoAround View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Unlike Jimmy's video, mine is the right aileron and it oscillated slightly but quickly around the neutral.

It did it two or three times after I adjusted the horn but has not happened since!

I have tried leaving it a few minutes and overnight - each time I start it, it's fine. Is it possible it didn't like the force required to move the servo arm but it has now settled down to being happy?
I called Horizon Hobby UK. They say it is not unusual for a small piece of crud to get caught in the potentiometer and that it has probably got caught and come out again. They have said it should be fine to fly but call them if it happens again. My call has been logged in the event of any future problem.

Given that it only vibrated around the neutral and stopped the second the stick was moved, I have to agree it should be OK to fly.

Weather sucks at the moment though ..
GoAround is offline Find More Posts by GoAround
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:25 AM
Registered User
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Oct 2010
1,864 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Eichstedt View Post
Won't work with the AR635. Gotta Y the ailerons.
Man I was hoping that you guys separated the channels with the new receiver. That is a bummer.
IndyMatt is offline Find More Posts by IndyMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:28 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Garner
Joined Nov 2012
2,196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoAround View Post
I called Horizon Hobby UK. They say it is not unusual for a small piece of crud to get caught in the potentiometer and that it has probably got caught and come out again. They have said it should be fine to fly but call them if it happens again. My call has been logged in the event of any future problem.

Given that it only vibrated around the neutral and stopped the second the stick was moved, I have to agree it should be OK to fly.

Weather sucks at the moment though ..
hover plane in your LIVINGROOM,,,,,I know U have HIDDEN talent.....
dalecheek1 is offline Find More Posts by dalecheek1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:48 AM
Road Scholar
JimmyJet727's Avatar
United States, SC, Fort Mill
Joined Oct 2012
98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjs View Post
Did you try pluging servo directly into ail channel (remove the Y). Currently it defies logic why one servo would swing and other does not as they both getting same signal. Unless the *other* servo is broke and the one you think is bad is good.
Okay we may be on to something here. Let me recap...

The LEFT aileron servo is the one that jitters, even with stick inputs.

The RIGHT aileron servo does *not* move with stick inputs.

So I've focused all my troubleshooting efforts on the LEFT (jittering) aileron servo. Then I read the last sentence in the post above from wjs.

This morning I disconnected the RIGHT aileron servo and bound the receiver. The LEFT servo functioned properly! Then I connected a spare servo to the RIGHT side and BOTH servos functioned properly.

So, I think we may have nailed it. Thank you wjs. I'll give an update when I get the new servo from HH.

Thank you to everyone who has tried to help me with this problem.

JJ
JimmyJet727 is offline Find More Posts by JimmyJet727
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 10:05 AM
Can't fly 3D for toffee ...
United Kingdom, Taunton
Joined Dec 2012
1,269 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalecheek1 View Post
hover plane in your LIVINGROOM,,,,,I know U have HIDDEN talent.....
Lol Dale, it is so deeply hidden that even I can't find it

Edit: Just looked at a decent forecast - wind will be silly here for at least a week!
GoAround is offline Find More Posts by GoAround
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:27 AM
Registered User
United States, RI, Smithfield
Joined Dec 2011
744 Posts
Seriously considering this plane but not finding a ton of formal reviews yet, anybody spotted any good thorough reviews other than the random youtube videos from fanboys? Definitely looks like a nice plane, but expensive so trying to make the most educated decision possible (especially with that new splendor coming out...)

Tom
d2tw4all is offline Find More Posts by d2tw4all
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:27 PM
Registered User
wayfaringdreamer's Avatar
United States, PA, Middletown
Joined Sep 2011
652 Posts
Am I missing something? This plane seems very reasonably priced to me!
wayfaringdreamer is offline Find More Posts by wayfaringdreamer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:15 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayfaringdreamer View Post
Am I missing something? This plane seems very reasonably priced to me!
Nope! You're not kissing anything at all. I also think its reasonably priced!
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 01:17 PM
Registered User
texbird's Avatar
USA, TX, Austin
Joined Jan 2011
359 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayfaringdreamer View Post
Am I missing something? This plane seems very reasonably priced to me!
Some people are comparing the cost of this completed plane to the cost of the parts for DIY.

Just as an experiment I priced the parts to build a plane SIMILIAR to this and it came out to about
$215 shipped to my door.

In my state with tax the visionaire is
$325

BUT i am NOT saying DIY would fly exactly the same way or be the same quality.

- only that the specs are similiar

Of course with this plane you have known performance, customer service, and less build time. So what is reasonable all depends on your point of view and how you weight things

To be honest i dont know myself which way i would go if i decide i want a plane like this.
texbird is offline Find More Posts by texbird
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Parkzone's New Habu 2 EDF ChuckTseeker Foamy EDFs 4479 Dec 19, 2014 12:54 PM
For Sale New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jul 12, 2012 01:26 AM
Sold New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 23, 2012 10:10 AM