Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 02, 2013, 08:43 AM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
Discussion
tbs discovery build

well here is my almost ready discovery build . waiting on a receiver yet .bought one on ebay ,waited 23 days and it never showed up .so i got a refund and bought another yesterday .so hopefully in a week this build will get going .i dont want to start any of it until i have it all .

whats here?

tbs disco plates

real dji arms

2012 red board multiwii

rctimer 30amp simonk esc`s

ntm 2826 1200kv`s

ntm prop adapters

1-6s lipo monitor/alarm

tbs lipo straps

control board to rx wires

lipo battery wires

and apparently 1 ghost orb!

gonna start off on 3s and 4s with 8inch props and see where it hovers at and then then try 9inch props .i also have a brand new gopro hero2 waiting in the wings .

helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Last edited by helizrnew2me; Jan 24, 2013 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 08, 2013, 03:44 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
well i finally got the receiver i was waiting on to start this build .got alot done today with the time i had .everything is together and working .a few things left to do yet .

like

balance blades

add ec3 connector

tweak a few things in the sketch(need to enable aux2)

set p-i-d`s

this is a multiwii 2012 red board ,i got it up off the ground just to verify everything was spinning in the right direction and thats where i stopped. might make a few tweaks later on tonight yet .

most of the build went smooth but a few of these screw heads got stripped out pretty easy (not every one went in like a dream)good thing there is extra`s. everything is loctite`d with loctite blue .decided to use the white arms in the rear to aid in orientation .

need to mount the "sat" yet ........where you think i should put it?

on the arm?

on top the frame?

i will be doing l-o-s with it mostly until spring when money starts flowing again and i can pickup the needed fpv gear (you can do fpv thru a gopro not???)

heres a few pics for ya ..then its off to the shower...lol






helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 05:18 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,192 Posts
Cool,
I'm waiting for mine in the mail.
going to take everything off my stock F450.
I did get 4 black arms to keep it all black.
I only have 3s so hopefully it's not heavier that my F450 all loaded up.
I have a new Gopro3 that I want leave the housing on. It it's too heavy I'll have to use it without the housing or splurge for some 4s batteries.

I wonder if it will fly fine with all the current NAZA settings or if I'll have to adjust gains.

In the TBS build video I saw they put the receiver on top in front with the 8 short leads plugged in the header pins.
Where did you place your receiver?

And yes the Gopro2 can be your FPV camera and it works great with this cable.
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=289
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Last edited by jasper7821; Jan 08, 2013 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 06:28 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
i put my rx right in front of the control board .there`s a square spot there for something i dont have yet so i mounted it there (with uglue,uglue works great)and i will probably need the weight up front anyway .
gonna mess with it here in a few and add my ec3 and give it a test hover downstairs .

thanks for the link ,its on my to do list .
helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 08:25 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Raleigh
Joined Mar 2012
199 Posts
I'm building mine now too, with 750kv motors and 10in props.
Guru06 is offline Find More Posts by Guru06
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2013, 07:38 PM
i do all my own crashes
skeetter's Avatar
United States, FL, Apopka
Joined Oct 2012
39 Posts
that looks good i have some pics of mine as i have gone FPV gopro well you get the hint!!!nice work ..
skeetter is offline Find More Posts by skeetter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2013, 07:43 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
i got a brand new gopro hero2 but i gotta get this thing dialed in and working correctly before i even attempt to mount it .i think i got a bad control board .
helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2013, 07:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
127 Posts
I don't know if you've flown this yet but a word of warning: Start with a LOW yaw gain! Im running axi 2217/20s, and the default Naza Yaw Gain was enough at default to cause a flip. Ended up with it at 40.
DaveyWavey is offline Find More Posts by DaveyWavey
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:57 AM
i do all my own crashes
skeetter's Avatar
United States, FL, Apopka
Joined Oct 2012
39 Posts
go ahead and add the gopro and check CG ....get it as close as you can you will be adding more stuff..lol ...good luck...and look at this>>>http://www.getfpv.com/ LayerLens GoPro Hero and Hero2 Lens Protection
skeetter is offline Find More Posts by skeetter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:11 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Cambridge
Joined Aug 2012
374 Posts
Im in the middle of building mine too, kicking myself that i watched a youtube tutorial on the build and put the pins on top for the rx, and after saw people putting the pins under the board to have rx between the 2 plates. Oh well, cant be bothered to un-solder it all, not like im going to see the top of it anyway

helizrnew2me, your battery wire is really long!
Jmm_jammy is offline Find More Posts by Jmm_jammy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 08:59 AM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
yeah i shortened up the battery lead some ,that was obviously not the final stage .
got the whole board situation straightened out now .
it was my p-i-d settings
i was not aware you will not have any control of pitch and roll in self level mode until you set the p-i-d`s for self level .
that one threw me for awhile .thought i had a bad rx first ,then thought bad board ,but once i realized i had full control in acro mode wheels started turning .
i copied my p-i-d settings from my dji450 multiwii and whalla ,full control. i had my first multiwii quad built and setup for me so i was not aware of a few things .these multiwii boards are not plug n play thats for sure .
its up and flying now but still needs p-i-d tweaking . i have a layer lens for my gopro too.

i weighed my gopro with layer lens and then made a weight out of some aaa batteries that weighed the same and strapped them to the front .
i dont wanna put my gopro on there until i get it all dialed in .dont wanna crash with a brand new gopro hero2 on there .
i put 9inch props on it now as i broke a few reverse props in 8inch during this whole head scratching phase .
i added my lipo reader/alarm to the rear now too.

heres a pic of the weight and how it will be flown until dialed in .

ps- i used standard gemfan nylon props ,i was using 8inch carbon/nylon but they are breaking too easy so until its dialed in i will stay with nylons,they are more forgiving .just a heads up .
helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 09:57 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2008
2,192 Posts
That's cool.
I'm still waiting for mine to come in the mail.
jasper7821 is offline Find More Posts by jasper7821
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:22 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
with 9inch props and a 2650 mah 3s lipo i got very near 10 minutes of hover time downstairs .i could reach hover at mid stick .
gonna test on 4s once my lipo is charged .
helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:45 PM
Anything can be made to fly
echo75's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Brondby
Joined Jun 2011
309 Posts
I just finished mine

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1806375
echo75 is offline Find More Posts by echo75
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:52 PM
Registered User
helizrnew2me's Avatar
United States, PA, Slatington
Joined Sep 2010
1,755 Posts
i like the tall legs ,makes it look like a crab....lol.....
helizrnew2me is online now Find More Posts by helizrnew2me
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log tbs discovery, build thread, long over due. crash8384 Multirotor Talk 9 Dec 20, 2012 12:55 PM
Help! A few questions about my TBS Discovery with NAZA build! powerstroke01 Multirotor Talk 0 Nov 15, 2012 06:52 PM