HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:32 PM
United States, KY, Paducah
Joined Mar 2011
590 Posts
Build Log
Minnie Mambo - First Scratchbuild, Many Questions

I got some balsa for Christmas and I bought a Cox .049 SureStart. I am now ready to begin my first balsa scratchbuild. I have printed off and taped together the plans for a Minnie Mambo. I plan to build it two channels - Rudder and Elevator. I may make it three channels if I get a throttle for my engine, but if that doesn't happen it will just be the two channels.

Being that I am new to building with balsa, I know I will have tons of questions.

My first question of many is: How do I cut out the pieces? For the wing's ribs, for example, do I print and cut out the rib template and glue it to the balsa or. . . .?

All help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Nicholas

Link to the plans: http://my.pclink.com/~dfritzke/Minni...o-GeneRock.pdf
PyroMan is offline Find More Posts by PyroMan
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:50 PM
Joined Mar 2011
590 Posts
Another questions. . .

I weighed some of my 3/32" thick balsa and sorted them by weight. My lightest sheet is about 10 grams and my heavies sheet is about 21 grams. Should I use the heaviest sheet for the fuselage sides or for making the wing ribs or does it not really matter?
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:28 PM
United States, SC, Columbia
Joined May 2010
1,355 Posts
The ribs are usually very light. In some of the kits with 1/16" ribs that I've built, you can barely touch them without damage.
RknRusty is online now Find More Posts by RknRusty
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:44 PM
Joined Mar 2011
590 Posts
Okay, then I'll use the lightest balsa sheet I have for the wing ribs.
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:35 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,606 Posts
For a constant chord wing I usually cut a template out of thin ply, then simply trace around that with the x-acto to cut out all the ribs.