HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 02, 2014, 10:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
2 Posts
Sorry I wasn't clear. The stock tx has what I would call 2 sensitivity modes (marked with an H and L on the tx) as well as two modes for control assignments it(mode 1 and mode 2 on the stock tx). I was referring to the control assignments. I prefer the tx mode 2 which, as I understand, Is actually mode 4 for common tx'es.
NovaBombScottie is offline Find More Posts by NovaBombScottie
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2014, 09:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2014
5 Posts
Here is the link to the video I have taken of the quad and TX trying 3 binding techniques. All lead to unsuccessful start. The canopy is on but the light is very visible.
Syma X1 problem (1 min 3 sec)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Heli Pad View Post
Would it be possible for you to share a video with us, with the canopy off, so that we could see the LED and what you do to bind?

If the status LED glows solid, the binding should have worked.

Double check that the throttle trim was not UP. If so, bring it down. Otherwise, the TX would not consider that you have brought Throttle to zero.
rampazzo is offline Find More Posts by rampazzo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 10:30 AM
Against Helicopter Cruelty
Heli Pad's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
6,162 Posts
Ram, I watched that video several times. I couldn't see the Tx screen too clearly. But what bothered me was that there seemed to always be a bar or two of throttle even when you first turn on the Tx. My theory is that your X1 is still waiting to see the throttle return to zero before it could complete the initialization process. So, you were 99% complete, but missing that last 1%, that's why the bird won't fly.

Leaving the X1 out of the picture for a second. Just turn on the Tx and see if there is a bar of throttle. Could you bring that to zero by playing with the throttle trim? I don't have my X1 in front of me, and I don't remember if the Tx remembers throttle trims or not. If the Tx resets throttle trim at each power cycle, turn it on, then lower it to see if the throttle bar disappear.

If nothing works, remove the top cover of the Tx and try again with the Tx opened. Sometime, a package misalignment causes the throttle stick to be unable to return to zero. I have attached a photo of what I expect to see on the Tx screen when throttle is at zero.

HP

Anyway, concentrate on getting the throttle from 0% to 100%, back to 0%, then slowly throttle up. Good luck.
Heli Pad is offline Find More Posts by Heli Pad
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 10:43 AM
Oldie, not Moldie
Ssayer's Avatar
United States, MI, Leonard
Joined Feb 2012
831 Posts
I think you're right, I'd bet that the throttle trim set too high is the culprit.
Ssayer is offline Find More Posts by Ssayer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 10:44 AM
Registered User
DirtyDovi's Avatar
United States, NY, Cortland
Joined Apr 2013
1,707 Posts
^^^ Interesting!
Using the throttle-trim to adjust the throttle down might just work..

Off topic, but, sort of on the same line -

Some quads that use MultiWii boards won't always arm or disarm..
A 'fix' is to adjust the trim in order to get the sticks into the 'right range'..

If it works for those, it might just work for this one too!

Great thinking HP!

This issue is a bit odd, so hopefully that'll do the trick!
DirtyDovi is offline Find More Posts by DirtyDovi
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:00 AM
Arbuckle Bill
Arbuckle Bill's Avatar
United States, WV, Leon
Joined Dec 2013
133 Posts
Well, I guess I am "all-in" now. I have 2 X-1's due to be delivered the first of the week, an IMAX B6 on order, and a Devo 10 on order. I was able to get the Devo 10 from BG for only $114.46 with the help of a $10 off coupon thanks to HP. Today is my 65th b'day, so the Devo 10 is my present from me to me. lol.
Arbuckle Bill is offline Find More Posts by Arbuckle Bill
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:22 AM
Childlike Activity for Adults
jbrumberg's Avatar
United States, MA, Cummington
Joined Dec 2012
2,633 Posts
Happy birthday Bill. 65 years old and still acting like a kid good job I'll be 62 in a couple of months.

Aging is not for sissies; nor does one age gracefully or well

I still have not figured out what I want to be when I grow up.
jbrumberg is offline Find More Posts by jbrumberg
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Improving Visibility
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:28 AM
Registered User
DirtyDovi's Avatar
United States, NY, Cortland
Joined Apr 2013
1,707 Posts
HAPPY BIRTHDAY BILL!!!

Sometimes 'self-gifting' is the best..
It sounds like you just scored some awesome goodies! Congrats!
DirtyDovi is offline Find More Posts by DirtyDovi
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:32 AM
Against Helicopter Cruelty
Heli Pad's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
6,162 Posts
Happy Birthday, Bill!
Heli Pad is offline Find More Posts by Heli Pad
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:33 AM
Arbuckle Bill
Arbuckle Bill's Avatar
United States, WV, Leon
Joined Dec 2013
133 Posts
Jay... you are absolutely right... aging is not for sissies. When I grow up I want to be able to fly an R/C model like some of the guys in the videos I watch.

Sam... I really enjoy giving when I can receive at the same time. lol.
Arbuckle Bill is offline Find More Posts by Arbuckle Bill
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 11:43 AM
Childlike Activity for Adults
jbrumberg's Avatar
United States, MA, Cummington
Joined Dec 2012
2,633 Posts
Bill-

My birthday wish for you- may your orders come early.
jbrumberg is offline Find More Posts by jbrumberg
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Improving Visibility
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 12:14 PM
Registered User
4_Props's Avatar
United States, NY, Fulton
Joined Aug 2013
917 Posts
Happy B-day old man. I'm RIGHT behind you.
Actually I'm doing great, feeling like I did years ago. Getting away from the job did wonder.
4_Props is offline Find More Posts by 4_Props
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 12:27 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Sep 2012
337 Posts
My wife got me an X1 for xmas. It is very stable and binds right up with my 9x. The only thing is its not very responsive. I have my 9x model set to 120% throws on all channels. I saw some mention of setting expo to -50 to make it come alive so I will try that next.
hcker2000 is offline Find More Posts by hcker2000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 12:31 PM
Against Helicopter Cruelty
Heli Pad's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
6,162 Posts
Don't stop at -50. Go -80!
Heli Pad is offline Find More Posts by Heli Pad
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2014, 12:35 PM
Registered User
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Sep 2012
337 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heli Pad View Post
Don't stop at -50. Go -80!
Fair enough I didnt know it went to -80. Heck I'm running er9x so who knows how low it goes. All I know is it dosnt handle the same as my 450 quad so I want to get it as close as I can.
hcker2000 is offline Find More Posts by hcker2000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Syma 2012 new publish, syma X1, S800G, S107C,S036G,what's better wjh041 Coaxial Helicopters 9 Jun 20, 2013 03:07 AM
New Product Syma X1 Quadcopter Spare Parts wjh041 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1 Nov 03, 2012 05:55 PM