Old Dec 28, 2012, 02:21 PM
Go 4th Air Force
United States, PA, Washington
Joined Sep 2011
199 Posts
Discussion
Help with my Alien Aircraft build

Hi Everyone,

I'm a little stuck early on in my build of the Taylorcraft kit. I need to add the 4-40 blind nuts to the ply firewall. The directions say to just press them into the hole in the wood. The ply isn't very soft and I am not able to just press them in. Should I be drilling small pilot holes for the prongs on the nut?

This is my first build and am not sure if I am doing this right. I tried using a tap hammer and broke the wooden piece so I need to glue that back together. Any advice would be appreciated.

Paul

PS I left the title of the thread generic as I may be needing further advice once I get past this hurdle
pmacko is offline Find More Posts by pmacko
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 28, 2012, 02:37 PM
M0unt@in M0del$ minion
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2002
7,249 Posts
Paul,

What I do is put a washer on the bolt head to spread the load on the wood then thread the blind nut on to the bolt. Use the bolt to pull the nut into the hole. Just before the blind nut pulls flush I usually put a drop of medium CA under the flange.

Don't be afraid to ask questions. You've got a ton of great builders here to help you every step of the way. Be sure to post pictures of your build.

Joe
turbojoe is offline Find More Posts by turbojoe
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:12 AM
The Prez....... again
United States, IA, Rockwell
Joined Jul 2011
4,091 Posts
Joe has it right. I personally, use epoxy on the T-nuts but that is just me. And yes, ask as many questions as you need. Heck, even the guys that have been building for a while ask questions.

Most of all, have fun while you are building and don't be afraid to walk away from a problem for a day. It's amazing how some problems "solve" themselves if left alone for a bit. Or, maybe more accurately, the solution becomes apparent more easily.

Ken