HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:58 PM
United States, AK, Homer
Joined Dec 2012
31 Posts
Discussion
First purchase and upgrade path plan for AP/AV. Advice?

Hi All. I've spent the last three days reading and watching everything I can find online about capturing video and photo from multirotor. If anyone would take the time to understand my situation and offer advice I would greatly appreciate it. I feel like I have plan to follow, but would like to get some feedback before I get started.

Thank you!

A little background:
I'm a professional photographer in Alaska and also shooting more and more video now that it's so accessible with the HDSLRs that I shoot with. (canon 5DmkIII, 7D) I have a lot of experience shooting aerial from airplanes, helicopters, and most recently a lot from my powered paraglider (paramotor). I'm also being trained to operate a cineflex from a robinson r44 helicopter currently.

I intend to work my way into offering my aerial photography and videography services with a multirotor this winter. I can clearly see its advantages and unique offerings compared to my other aerial platforms.

What I'll be shooting
I'll mostly be shooting action sports such as surfing and snowsports, but also some scenic/landscape type of establishing shots. I'll be operating from a boat, snowmachine, snowshoes, beaches, mostly all in remote locations. So portability is certainly a concern and there will be plenty of unfavorable environmental situations to deal with i.e. snow, rain, marine/mountains environments, COLD etc. This is Alaska after all.

My plan goes like this: