SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2001, 11:48 AM
Registered User
Der Zip's Avatar
Port Orford, Oregon, USA
Joined Mar 2001
161 Posts
Windows XP flight sims

Is any one able to run FMS or Cockpit Master on Windows XP? Some one said Real Flight G_2 works.
Also has some one been able to wire up a USB interface and maby some software for those sims.
Thanks for any information Der Zip
Der Zip is offline Find More Posts by Der Zip
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2001, 12:29 PM
Rehab is for quitters
LuckyArmpit's Avatar
West Middlesex, PA, US
Joined Jun 2001
4,853 Posts
Latest version of FMS runs fine on my XP Pro. No problems.

Dave...
LuckyArmpit is offline Find More Posts by LuckyArmpit
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 01:15 PM
Electriaddict
dorysch1's Avatar
Melville Saskatchewan Canada
Joined Mar 2001
1,579 Posts
the home version of xp may not work but the compatability feature in pro should play it the pro version works way better here with what we do
dorysch1 is offline Find More Posts by dorysch1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 02:15 PM
DNA
registered user
DNA's Avatar
NE Ohio
Joined Jun 2001
3,311 Posts
FMS ver7 is running fine on my home version of XP.
Can't use the transmitter interface parallel or serial though.
I use a joystick for now, until I can get a Tx interface built.

Speaking of Cockpit Master, there is nothing on their web
site that says anything about what hardware interfaces
it can use. Nor is there any support offered on their web site!
DNA is offline Find More Posts by DNA
Last edited by DNA; Nov 20, 2001 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 07:14 PM
Registered User
Der Zip's Avatar
Port Orford, Oregon, USA
Joined Mar 2001
161 Posts
Thanks Gang:
Those are some good inputs. If xp home don't work, buy xp pro.
Still looking for a USB interface for a joy stick or transmitter.
I guess Cockpit Master team is swamped right now trying to get their BackYard version released.
I'm sure they can help with interfaces when the pressure lets up a little.
Cockpit Master has excellent slopes but not many slope planes. We did a few slopers for free down load and have our electrics here as well. http://www.harborside.com/~birdworks/bwhome.htm
Just click on the plane you want and at bottom of that page follow the directions.
Lots of lift Der Zip
Der Zip is offline Find More Posts by Der Zip
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 08:02 PM
DNA
registered user
DNA's Avatar
NE Ohio
Joined Jun 2001
3,311 Posts
Zip,

I'm using a USB joystick with FMS ver7 and WinXP home ver.
It's a logictrol wingman extreme.
Wasn't any problem to use it. Just plug it into USB port
and WinXP configures it as a joystick. FMS works fine with it.
DNA is offline Find More Posts by DNA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flight Sim for use with Windows XP? NickW Electric Plane Talk 9 Apr 10, 2002 07:04 AM
Flight sim for Windows XP? windsurfer Electric Plane Talk 18 Mar 13, 2002 08:45 PM
Flight sims on XP Dave Seay Electric Plane Talk 5 Jan 27, 2002 12:13 PM
Windows XP Drivers for Real Flight Deluxe Sim LNL Life, The Universe, and Politics 11 Nov 06, 2001 01:54 PM
Windows XP Drivers For Real Flight Deluxe Sim LNL Electric Plane Talk 1 Nov 06, 2001 12:16 AM