HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:09 AM
Registered Offender
gatorb8's Avatar
United States, FL, Gulf Breeze
Joined Apr 2008
2,859 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Model Aero View Post

Note that it is much easier to rewire before the wings are glued in.


www.ModelAero.com
so true! I had to remove a small bit of fuse behind the wing to help the wires make the turn from vert stab to fuse. All gets covered back up when wing goes in.
I also went with #18 Ancor tinned wire since I fly in salt
gatorb8 is offline Find More Posts by gatorb8
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by gatorb8; Jan 29, 2013 at 06:43 PM. Reason: I used #18, not #16
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:28 AM
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
5,157 Posts
Scott,

Thanks for taking the time to make a great product even better. The upgrade to 16 ga wiring should be just right. I upgraded mine to 18 ga (I didn't have any 16 ga at the time) and the wires still got a little warm but they didn't seem to be melting into the foam anymore. I'm way past the recommended power setup with my motor, so if 18 ga works with my setup, 16 ga should be perfect.

I'm using the 3-blade MA 8x6 prop and a 2200 mah 3-cell battery with this motor:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=28116

Disclaimer -- Using larger motors can result in the loss of your motor cowl due to excessive windspeed.

McD
kingsflyer is offline Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by kingsflyer; Jan 29, 2013 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:22 AM
You're killin' me Smalls
BrownEyedFool's Avatar
United States, NJ, Hillsborough Township
Joined Sep 2011
1,617 Posts
After sale technical support is the hallmark of a conscientious vendor.

Well done.
BrownEyedFool is offline Find More Posts by BrownEyedFool
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:36 PM
Registered User
Northwest Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
2,680 Posts
Thanks for the comments guys. I'm doing my best to resolve the situation to everyone's satisfaction.

I have prepared a little instruction guide for rewiring the kit. This applies to unbuilt kits only. Unfortunately, there is no clean or simple way to rewire a kit after the wings have been attached. I know a few have done surgery on their built kits, but it is difficult to do.

If your kit is already built, I suggest leaving the wires alone and flying her on 3s batteries with the amp draw at 25 amps or less.

Scott
Model Aero is offline Find More Posts by Model Aero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:52 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, Marshall
Joined Sep 2012
8 Posts
Scott,

I just bought my Polaris Ultra 1-26-2013 , It should be here Wednesday or Thursday, Will I have to rewire mine? or has the issue been fixed already?

Thanks Terrance
terrancec is offline Find More Posts by terrancec
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:09 PM
Registered User
Northwest Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
2,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrancec View Post
Scott,

I just bought my Polaris Ultra 1-26-2013 , It should be here Wednesday or Thursday, Will I have to rewire mine? or has the issue been fixed already?

Thanks Terrance
You are good to go with upgraded wires.

Scott
Model Aero is offline Find More Posts by Model Aero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:20 PM
Registered User
United States, MN, Marshall
Joined Sep 2012
8 Posts
Thanks Scott, I have my building area cleared off, cant wait till it gets here.
Terrance
terrancec is offline Find More Posts by terrancec
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:37 PM
Registered Offender
gatorb8's Avatar
United States, FL, Gulf Breeze
Joined Apr 2008
2,859 Posts
you are gonna love this plane...boat....boat/plane....
gatorb8 is offline Find More Posts by gatorb8
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My First FPV experience
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:21 PM
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
5,157 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Model Aero View Post
I have prepared a little instruction guide for rewiring the kit. This applies to unbuilt kits only. Unfortunately, there is no clean or simple way to rewire a kit after the wings have been attached. I know a few have done surgery on their built kits, but it is difficult to do.
Scott
It was difficult, but I was able to pull the wires out of my assembled model with the help of a little kitchen dish detergent. I put some on the wires by the motor nacell and some down the wires in the open bay. I then pulled on all three wires together from each end until they started moving a little. Some more soap and they were sliding easily back and forth. I soldered the three new wires together and soldered the three to the end of one of the existing wires. After applying a little more soap, I then used the existing wire to pull in the three larger wires. I don't think the soap will have any long-term bad effects on the foam.

McD
kingsflyer is offline Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:55 PM
Registered Offender
gatorb8's Avatar
United States, FL, Gulf Breeze
Joined Apr 2008
2,859 Posts
good idea kings! you run a clean ship!
gatorb8 is offline Find More Posts by gatorb8
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My First FPV experience
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 10:14 AM
Registered User
Northwest Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
2,680 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsflyer View Post
It was difficult, but I was able to pull the wires out of my assembled model with the help of a little kitchen dish detergent. I put some on the wires by the motor nacell and some down the wires in the open bay. I then pulled on all three wires together from each end until they started moving a little. Some more soap and they were sliding easily back and forth. I soldered the three new wires together and soldered the three to the end of one of the existing wires. After applying a little more soap, I then used the existing wire to pull in the three larger wires. I don't think the soap will have any long-term bad effects on the foam.

McD
Hmmm.....interesting idea. I am rewiring one for a friend that's already built and I'll try your technique.

I don't believe the soap will hurt anything. Poor man's Corrosion X!!!

Scott
Model Aero is offline Find More Posts by Model Aero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:48 PM
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
5,157 Posts
You may need to try and pull on the wires one at a time if you can't get all three to move. Since you are going to replace them anyway, you can pull really hard if you need to.
McD
kingsflyer is offline Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:57 PM
Registered User
Alan W's Avatar
NY
Joined May 2000
2,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsflyer View Post
I don't think the soap will have any long-term bad effects on the foam.

McD
I can hear it now:

Wife (holding video camera to film first flight) - "Why's your new electric plane blowing soap bubbles out its butt ? .. and BTW - where did all my Dawn dish soap go ? "

Pilot - " Hey, at least you stopped losing all your Paper towels and Windex since I'm flying electric. The Bubbles were a no-cost upgrade thanks to Scott "
Alan W is offline Find More Posts by Alan W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:54 PM
Registered User
Petefoss's Avatar
Oxford, Michigan, United States
Joined Aug 1999
2,455 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan W View Post
The Bubbles were a no-cost upgrade thanks to Scott "
I can hear Lawrence Welk now! (ask your parents if you are under 50).
Petefoss is online now Find More Posts by Petefoss
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:30 AM
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
5,157 Posts
Just good clean fun.

McD
kingsflyer is offline Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete Power set up for a Aero Models Aqua Cat or Polaris RTflyboy Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Dec 08, 2012 06:52 PM
For Sale cassini aero models usa p 51d mustang 120 arf asteroidguy Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Mar 17, 2012 06:21 PM
Discussion Model Aero Polaris Seaplane Auction Model Aero Hot Online Deals 1 Mar 11, 2012 12:28 PM
For Sale cassini aero models usa p 51 mustang 120 arf asteroidguy Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 22, 2012 01:14 PM