HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:07 PM
United States, CA, Palo Alto
Joined Jan 2009
59 Posts
Discussion
This kit is scareing me- GWS Tiger Moth 400

I have been flying for over 5 years and I really enjoy the "building" of my planes. I normally buy ParkZone products which require very little skill. I even enjoy buying the bare-bones foamies and installing my own motor, esc, and servos.
But this kit is a little daunting. I am not used to seeing so many pieces!!! I have looked at the various build thread's, but I am still scared.

HELP!!!!
Konamack is offline Find More Posts by Konamack
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:15 PM
United States, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Oct 2000
12,185 Posts
Put on your big boy pants and read the instructions twice noting the best sequence of "putting it together". If you assemble it reasonably straight and have it balanced so that it is not tail-heavy and you have basic tail-dragger flying skills, you should get through the maiden flight with little or no damage. Look carefully at the wings and tail surfaces from the rear, if you see any warps or un-symettrical-ness it must be fixed. There must be some down and right thrust angle to the motor.
E-Challenged is online now Find More Posts by E-Challenged
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:00 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,613 Posts
Most things that look incredibly complicated can often be solved if taken just a little bit at a time.

I scratch build a lot, and often reach that, 'how the hell am I going to solve this' point in a build. So I step back, leave it for a while, and then solved the smallest part.

Just think about how big your grin will be after that first flight. And get the glue out
eflightray is offline Find More Posts by eflightray
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:29 PM
United States, ID, Burley
Joined Mar 2012
3,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eflightray View Post