HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 09, 2012, 07:50 PM
Joined Dec 2007
11 Posts
Discussion
DH 9118 or Syma S33 or Syma S033g?

Which would you get for yourself and your son and why?

I've done a lot of research, this will be my first non-micro heli (I have an RC parkflyer, so not total newbie) and I've flown a large coaxial with no trouble.

I understand the battery issues of all of these -- don't expect much.
It seems that the durability of all are good.
The DH looks to need the main rotor flipped to avoid strikes.
All seem to be improved by the tail rotor mods.

I LOVE the big S033g, but I'm not excited at all about the drop in reception due to the 27mhz issues. I can deal with flipping the rotor, getting a new tail rotor, and upgrading the battery, but none of that matters if the thing drops out of the sky.

The S33 seems the right fix, but I can't find it for sale any place without apparently risking my life in dealing with the likes of XHeli.

The DH 9118 seems like the right fix, but then... compared to the S033g, it's like tiny! But in reading the reviews the rates of problems seems to be minimal compared to the Syma models.

Can someone do an actual, non-bias, non-angled, straight from nose to tail (NOT including tail rotor) measurement of these birds? I can't seem to find any consistent numbers for how big each of these actually are.

One more thing. I really want to be able to carry a GoPro Hero up. If you can confirm that I can strap one to the skids and fly it around, I would buy the DH9118 right now.

Thanks!
rbbailey is offline Find More Posts by rbbailey
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:18 PM
scratch-built
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Apr 2007
999 Posts
Hi rbbailey,