SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 07, 2012, 10:40 PM
USA, WA, Bremerton
Joined Feb 2007
851 Posts
Help!
HK YEP esc help

I ordered one of these 80 amp speed controllers. I have never used the Governor feature before and want to try this using this feature. I'm testing this on my 450 Pro.

I'm using a DX8 which has Normal and Stunt-1 & -2 (3 flight modes if you will). Plus HOLD of course.

In reading the info it seems like after I program the ESC with throttle low and high ranges, then the Gov.store setting is all there is to this.

I setup the TX with Stunt-1 using a flat TC of 75%. Stunt-2 is at 85%. The motor and pinion provide about 3000 hs at 85%. I have my Normal curve at 0, 50, 62, 74, 87. I'm used to have a TC that starts at 0 for Normal. I could make this a flat curve also if needed, but would prefer not to.

In operation, I'm thinking I turn on the TX, enter HOLD, then plug in Lipo. Then if I can fly Normal mode leave that as an option.

Flipping to Stunt-1, turn off HOLD. The slow spool-up takes place, power is reached and the Gov feature engages (I hope). I then fly.

During my flight, can I flip to Stunt-2 (85% power) and have the ESC increase the HS during the flight? Can I go back to Stunt-1 and have the power drop again?

If I can fly a non-flat Normal curve, what happens if I flip to Normal after being in the Gov controlled Stunt modes?

Thanks for your thoughts.
Blade Crasher is offline Find More Posts by Blade Crasher
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 12:04 AM
just gotta mess with it!
North West Louisiana
Joined Nov 2009
4,841 Posts
Governor mode