HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:01 AM
hooked13
Joined Dec 2012
11 Posts
Help!
castle thunderbird 54

I have a problem with this esc in that when I plug it into my 2 brushless motors using 3.5 bullet connectors (power 25 1250kv and OS .25 1200kv the motor does not spin freely. What I mean is that I can spin both my motors freely (by hand) not connected to the esc but when connected there is friction during rotation or what seems to be friction. I thought there was something wrong with the motor but the power 25 is one day old. To test out my theory on the thunderbird esc I connected both motors to an eflite 60 amp esc that I have laying around and both motors spin freely as they should with no friction of any kind. So my questiion is what could the problem be or is this a normal action from a castle esc? This is the first castle esc that I have owned. I am no expert but I do know that there is something wrong.
hooked13 is offline Find More Posts by hooked13
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2012, 07:11 AM
Jack
USA, ME, Ellsworth
Joined May 2008
16,690 Posts
There is an effect called " cogging" where the magnets passing each other generate counter forces in the other magnets that can be felt as the motor is turned by hand.

In most cases, the motor will not spin freely at any time, there will always be some cogging effect. The forces and evenness of the cogging effect will change with the motor not connected to anything, it will change again when connected to the ESC, again when the ESC is powered up, and the settings you have chosen for the ESC can change it even further.

The lightest and most evenly spaced cogging will normally be felt when the motor is not connected to the ESC and all three motor leads are shorted together.

How are you connecting two motors to one ESC? That normally will not work because the ESC reads the back EMF from the motors to work right and control motor RPM. So each motor has to have it's own ESC.

Jack