HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:35 PM
I did it...
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Discussion
Need some ideas for my first please.....

After being helped on how to finally figure out how to get into this area of rc, (thanks to all of you that took the time to educate me), I need your input on a good trainer jet. I have, in the works, acquired a very nice RAM 750 that should be here around Christmas. I'm going to be in NO hurry jumping right in and flying the thing. I need all good electo's and have a lot of learning to do just to keep the engine happy and running for years to come. I have a DX18 so my radio is fine. What I do need help with is a good trainer to put this in. I have 30 years experience in flying and have had several fast flying birds. I'm thinking something along the line of a bobcat as the engine is out in the open so I can get use to operating it before I tuck it away inside a fues. Any thoughts? Your experience is my building blocks to success here in something I've wanted to do my whole life.

Thanks
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2012, 01:22 AM
310mph Kolibri T25 Swist
Sverige, Kronobergs Län, Ljungby
Joined Jan 2001
4,826 Posts
Bomerang Elan is a great performer with features good for an entry jet such as back mounted engine.

http://www.boomerangjets.com/us/elan.htm
henke is offline Find More Posts by henke
Old Dec 04, 2012, 07:57 AM
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
Post up a pic of the new engine. (and ECU) Is it an auto start... or air start?

The RAM 750 is big... so... the known, cheap airframes aren't going to work. Weight wise... and thrust... it would be OK... on a a Falcon 120... but as I recall... it's over 4" around. SO... mounting it may be hard.