HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Dec 03, 2012, 03:33 PM
Joined Dec 2009
1,782 Posts
Discussion
Your thoughts on this center of wing tape idea..

Was working on some remodeling today. Reached down for the fiberglass self-stick drywall joint tape (not the thin paper type) and cut off a strip. As I looked at it I thought about the possibility of using this tape for reinforcing a wing center area prior to covering the wing. It's thinner than standard fiberglass cloth in thickness and is STRONG. With the advantage of being tacky on one side it would be easy to lay it on the center seam and apply the epoxy, finishing resin or CA.

Has anyone out there actually tried this idea, and if so, how do you feel about the end results?

Soft landings,

Joe
piperjoe is offline Find More Posts by piperjoe
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 03, 2012, 05:15 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,460 Posts
I use regular fiberglass with 3m sticky spray on thea area to be glassed... works very well.... do you have a link to the sticky backed mesh? I think the only problem with the drywall tape is your limited in width you can apply?
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:32 PM
Closed Account
Joined Mar 2011
478 Posts
I use cloth medical tape all the time, normally with thin CA.
FLYBOB54 is offline Find More Posts by FLYBOB54
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:50 PM
Joined Dec 2009
1,782 Posts
Thermalin, I think I could overlap the actual seam and creat a double thickness of a half inch or so by using two strips of the two inch mesh tape. Then I could always add another strip right over the center seam. The epoxy or CA would bind it all together without the thick edges and f'glass loose threads that require a bit of sanding. I got the tape at a Lowe's and tossed the wrapper so can't help with the name right now.

FlyBob54, hadn't considered medical tape so that is an interesting alternative.

Soft landings,

Joe