HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 12, 2003, 04:16 PM
Smooth Air
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Joined Apr 2003
1,500 Posts
Fokker Dr.1 Triplane 1/12 Scale Beta Build

Previously available in only plans, Gary from http://www.dvflighttech.com sent me a beta kit to play with.

I fell in love with this plane the first time I saw it fly, I knew I had to have one.

Put together using Odorless CA and Baking Soda or Balsa Dust, the kit so far has been a real pleasure to build. Powered by either a single IPS or dual IPS motor, she 's going to be a blast.
Morb is offline Find More Posts by Morb
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 12, 2003, 04:18 PM
Smooth Air
Joined Apr 2003
1,500 Posts
While you guys are reading this, please bear in mind I am a VERY slow builder, so be patient, I'm doing her as fast and as carefully as I can.

Included are instructions and the plans...I think this is going to be a fun kit to build.

Included are pushrods, all gear to put the plane together (sans glue) .. no needing out to go buy extra stuff except your radio gear. Gary has really put a lot of thought, ( and a little love I believe) into this kit.
Old Dec 12, 2003, 04:21 PM
Smooth Air
Joined Apr 2003
1,500 Posts
The fuse went together without a hitch, even though I did have to refer to the plans several times...I'm a little nutty about making my measurements right, as the instructions don't include any.

I have never used odorless CA except on small fix it jobs, and found it takes a bit of time for it to dry. Low tack masking tape held things together nicely.
Old Dec 12, 2003, 04:25 PM
Smooth Air
Joined Apr 2003
1,500 Posts
Battery holder and firewall installed. This foam is really nice to work with..Depron I believe....You have to round the fuse around the firewall, but a little pressure from your hands, and low tack masking tape hold everything in place very nicely.

This is about 40 minutes into the build... (See above, I'm slow)
Old Dec 12, 2003, 04:27 PM
Smooth Air