SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 01, 2012, 04:06 PM
United States, NM, Albuquerque
Joined Jun 2007
1,172 Posts
Discussion
how to get more speed from gas engines?

i am new to gassers and i have a few questions regarding speed. i have a 50cc great planes revolver. it calls for a dle 55 motor. i have seen this plane fly on this motor and it does about 120mph.. i was wondering how people get more speed out of gas airframes. do i go up to a larger motor, make a 85cc. an info will help
kremecheze is offline Find More Posts by kremecheze
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2012, 08:26 PM
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
13,584 Posts
Maybe a larger engine, but it depends on if the engine will fit OK, and whether the CG is still Ok. Plus the plane needs to stay streamlined as well. You can lookup what they do to modify two stroke motorcycle engines and those techniques apply to the RC gas engines as well.

Basically they do things like shave the base of the cylinder a little bit to increase compression and advance the port timing a little bit too. Then there is porting and polishing the intake and exhaust passages. Check the reed valve block and make sure it is clean and smooth as well. A larger bore carb, advance ignition timing maybe, a better exhaust system such as preferably a tuned exhaust system. But if the engine isn't all that good to start with, you may be looking at a better connecting rod and a better crankshaft too.
earlwb is offline Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My new Gaui X5 Rc Helicopter
Old Dec 01, 2012, 10:52 PM
TigreJohn
United States, CA, Corona
Joined Aug 2008
1,005 Posts