Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:00 PM
UK
Joined Jan 2009
1,248 Posts
Build Log
Boston Beagle - Design and Build

I've started a new Bostonian design - the Boston Beagle, so called because it has a long but square nose

This is an attempt at a duration comp design, incorporating some new ideas. It's all about the flying performance so it's pretty boring and characterless! There are a few important aims and striking the balance between these factors is what I hope to achieve here:

1) A stable design. I've seen the importance of this with the BD5. A long motor is only helpful if you can trim the thing.

2) A long motor. This is a balancing act between trying to get the CG as near the 7" mark for a full length motor but without compromising the length of the tail moment arm for dynamic stability. I studied various ideas including a full size lifting tail and canard configurations to try and get the CG at the halfway mark. It is possible with a canard but only by reducing the size of the foreplanes to the point where I lost confidence in the trimming again. A full 24in2 lifting tail again means that the tail moment is reduced, because the CG is back at 75-80% the tma suffers and you have to move the wing forward to preserve the dynamic stability. A lifting tail might be good in that it reduces wing loading but it offers no real HtP advantage.

I think the best way to get a long motor and a decent tma is to build underweight and use nose weight in a conventional design.

3) A roomy fuselage. The winner at the last Impington comp used a 30" motor of 1/8 rubber. My Boston Cub ended up with similar 21" of 1/8, so a decent wide fuselage is preferable to let it all flop around. Bunching is baaad.