SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:00 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
Oh yeah, the Atmega handles the 5v, it's the RFM22 that will fry if powered with more than 3.3v.
When you use the AVR ISP connector, when you supply the digital input pins with 5V, the voltage will then be transfered to the supply voltage by the internal ESD diodes, thus supplying the internal supply with 4.2V which fries the RFM22 board.
So DO NOT USE THE USB AVR with 5V! EVEN WITH THE JUMPER OFF.
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:01 AM
Registered User
Quick Draw's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
18 Posts
Hey All, Can someone tell an idiot (me) how to bind this thing, and what pins would be the best spot to power it up?
Quick Draw is offline Find More Posts by Quick Draw
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:15 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
Not happy at all with this gear...
Today tried to go a bit further out and no more than 150-170mts completely lost radio signal.

HK LRS - Crash due to losing radio conection (0 min 57 sec)
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
Not happy at all with this gear...
Today tried to go a bit further out and no more than 150-170mts completely lost radio signal.

http://youtu.be/-SJu7lVonfI
Sorry to hear about the crash Definitely not good news about the system? Are you using the stock antennas? I picked up a couple of these to try http://www.ebay.com/itm/200895096737 . Even with the stock antenna's your results are extremely disappointing.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:44 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
The TX was using a stock antenna, on the RX I tried the stock and a monopole I made (like that you got) . Almost same range, the monopole was slightly better.
When it crashed it was using the stock.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Last edited by IceWind; Feb 16, 2013 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:38 PM
Registered User
Poland, Masovian Voivodeship, Warsaw
Joined Jan 2013
17 Posts
Have you checked RF antenna connection? Look here

I had about 150-170 meters on the ground in micromode on stock antenna in TX and RX.
capoo is offline Find More Posts by capoo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:44 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
This is my second RX, the second after much pain I found that it had a blob of solder dropped on top of the RFM22.
I've looked for similar errors as well as bad solder joint. With the first I had 50mts of range.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
1,884 Posts
http://www.tme.eu/fr/details/rfm23-4...fm23b-433-s1/#

does it good module if i want to remplace original hk by a powerful
titeuf007 is offline Find More Posts by titeuf007
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:36 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
This is my second RX, the second after much pain I found that it had a blob of solder dropped on top of the RFM22.
I've looked for similar errors as well as bad solder joint. With the first I had 50mts of range.
I don't understand why you wouldn't get the same range as anyone else using the RFM22. Unless somehow they were damaged during assembly or programming at the factory. I will try and get out tomorrow to do some range tests. I've done some previous tests with my Hitec 2.4 system and I was able to go out 1.2KM without any issue. I didn't try any farther. I have an frsky coming as well to try.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:42 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,650 Posts
@titeuf007, that module has less power that the one on the HK LRS.
You probably meant this one: http://www.hoperf.com/rf/fsk/RFM23BP.htm but have in mind that it will not fit directly as it's bigger in size.

@Xnaron, me neither. Well looking at the first RX I received I can see that happening, as well as looking at the past post from others.
I use FrSky for my FPV gear and I have much better range, even knowing that my 900Mhz FPV gear is reducing it's range.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:03 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
1,884 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
Yes, the CP2102 on the picture is the same I use.

Connections on CP2102
GND (brown), RXD (green), TXD (yellow), 3V3 (red), DTR (orange)


I made the wires on single 1x6 connector (you can make one from two servo connectors by gluing them together). In order (empty) (brown) (red) (green) (yellow) (orange), this fits directly on the serial header on the modules.

On RX


On TX

i just to buy one on ebay
what do you select on arduino programmer?(usbasap,usbtiny isp????)

thanks again for this incredible project and you hard work for this great code
titeuf007 is offline Find More Posts by titeuf007
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:31 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,916 Posts
Here is a simple solution from my friend for the openLRS & 9Xr antenna mountting problem.
Name: uploadfromtaptalk1361129455240.jpg
Views: 364
Size: 104.5 KB
Description:

Similiar aporoach can be taken by just attaching the L piece to the module only as this means undoing 2 M3 screws to remove the tx module.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:43 PM
Registered User
Xnaron's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
3,759 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
Here is a simple solution from my friend for the openLRS & 9Xr antenna mountting problem.
Attachment 5544578

Similiar aporoach can be taken by just attaching the L piece to the module only as this means undoing 2 M3 screws to remove the tx module.
Nice mod.
Xnaron is offline Find More Posts by Xnaron
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Spain
Joined Dec 2010
95 Posts
Here it's my mounting.
Ernes is offline Find More Posts by Ernes
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:51 AM
RC beginner
New York
Joined Oct 2008
6,054 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
@titeuf007, that module has less power that the one on the HK LRS.
dont you mean not less but same power?

btw have you tried a different location. testing my diy version in wilderness of upstate ny this weekend i got about 2km but only about 200m in the urban environment where i am right now. garage door openers, security systems, thoughtless illegal fpv hobbyists, etc.
dave1993 is offline Find More Posts by dave1993
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 02:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 09:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 06:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 01:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 03:19 PM