HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:13 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,488 Posts
Which thundeadmod?
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:26 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
I'm not sure. This is the guide and download I used.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=467
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:27 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koo View Post
I have a quick question. I flashed the undead mod to both rx and tx and I'm wondering if I had a successful flash. Arduino did say upload complete but I didn't need to rebind the rx to tx again. It was already bound.
Thundeadmod is bound by values defined in code (editable on the conf thing). No binding is needed on that. This applies to the basic OpenLRS too.

OpenLRSng is different as it transfers the info needed on binding. This allows rekeying to be done on field as no pc is required. RX needs to be connected to PC when firmware is updated.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:35 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
Awesome! I did a range test and seemed to get only 0.5miles on the ground with very non-ideal conditions, lots of trees and stuff. Can't wait to see how far my skywalker can go. I got RTH on my OSD
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:40 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,987 Posts
OpenLRSng defaults to 9600 baud... for more range you may test 'datarate 0'. To take it into use reflash rx with code having that setting. Rekey by holding button down on start and rebind rx. (Otherwise old setting get used from eeprom, I will allow editing settings without flashing soonish.)
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:27 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,488 Posts
Kha:
Do you have the stock firmware for the Orange LRS?

Alert, don't trust the stock antennas.
A little tug on both of them and they came apart at the base.
I did make a Monpole antenna and I plan to make a dipole for the TX.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:47 PM
Registered User
Poland, Masovian Voivodeship, Warsaw
Joined Jan 2013
18 Posts
Hi,
I used 5v BEC to power TX ( +, - from BEC, PPM from radio to servo pin 1 ) - without any result - on TX LED2 flashing, on RX no signal.
I think the problem is with TX mode 3 code, because Red_LED_On in mode 3 (RX as TX) is not declarated - there's 2x Green_Led_On/Off - it looks like bad loop.

Anyway I will try 1.10 - I'm going to check the range on stock antenna on micro mode now.
capoo is offline Find More Posts by capoo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cesco View Post
Sorry ... what i said about using the usbasp programmer for arduino i was completely wrong. It is quite simple to do so. Steps:

Remove the jumper from your HK usbasp like in the picture attached. This jumper sends 5V to the target, we dont want that. Use a normal 5V power supply for the orange opnlrs.

In the arduino sketch, select the usbasp programmer like in screenshot attached.

Connect the usbasp cable to the orange openlrs like in the picture attached.

Use the "upload with programmer" function of arduino like in screenshot attached.

I did test, and it works flawlessly here. You may get a "could not set SCK error", that is normal. Happy programming !
HI Cesco or whoever,
Which pins are which ont the Rx?
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:24 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Do you have the stock firmware for the Orange LRS?
In a sense as it can be dowloaded from http://code.google.com/p/openlrs

However due to limited time I have available for the hobby I will not discuss issues with it, and will only help people using my code from http://github.com/kh4/openLRSng

I hope you all understand this. Thank you.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:50 AM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,488 Posts
Kha:
I got that I just was thinking mine was working and still can't get it to fuction right.
It would be nice to know which one it is. So I can confirm that it is still working and the next 5 days won't be a waste of time to get something that is broke to work again.
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:56 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorAudio View Post
Kha:
I got that I just was thinking mine was working and still can't get it to fuction right.
What hw are you using? Orange RX TX and RX or something else?

I believe they use v1.12 http://code.google.com/p/openlrs/dow...enLRS_1_12.zip
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:01 PM
Some call me the other guy!
DoctorAudio's Avatar
Milwaukie , Oregon
Joined Feb 2003
4,488 Posts
Orange RX TX and RX , yes!
DoctorAudio is offline Find More Posts by DoctorAudio
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:29 PM
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
In a sense as it can be dowloaded from http://code.google.com/p/openlrs

However due to limited time I have available for the hobby I will not discuss issues with it, and will only help people using my code from http://github.com/kh4/openLRSng

I hope you all understand this. Thank you.
Holy crap! I didn't know that you lived in Espoo, I used to live there for 13 years of my life. I'll be moving back, probably Espoo or Vantaa this summer as well. This is really off topic, but can you fly FPV legally in Finland and if so, what frequencies are open? I've heard that the fox800 with a lowpass filter is something that the community tried getting approved.
Konsta
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:47 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,987 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koo View Post
This is really off topic, but can you fly FPV legally in Finland and if so, what frequencies are open? I've heard that the fox800 with a lowpass filter is something that the community tried getting approved.
Konsta
Disclaimer: following is from my memory and may not be completely true.

Legality is a problem yes. I have radio amateur licence so I can play around with this stuff even with higher powers, however FPV is not considered as radio amateur activity and thus strictly speaking...

I think one can use the lower power 5.8G gear quite freely even thou the legality is a bit unclear, the range on those is so limited that it is nearly impossible to cause any serious interference.

There was some discussion on kopterit.net (Finnish heli flyers club) and at least 1280MHz (if I recall right) was allowed if you got a special permit for it. This is of course something you have to do if you plan to do it commericially etc.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
OK guys Im using the USBasp to upload my file.
so for the Tx. I was able to send the data first time, but nothing works now, no LEDs no nothing.
Just the voltage is present.
Now on the second run it always gives me an error message:
avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep 2 2011 at 19:38:36
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is "C:\Download\Arduino\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

Using Port : usb
Using Programmer : usbasp
avrdude: seen device from vendor ->www.fischl.de<-
avrdude: seen product ->USBasp<-
AVR Part : ATMEGA328P
Chip Erase delay : 9000 us
PAGEL : PD7
BS2 : PC2
RESET disposition : dedicated
RETRY pulse : SCK
serial program mode : yes
parallel program mode : yes
Timeout : 200
StabDelay : 100
CmdexeDelay : 25
SyncLoops : 32
ByteDelay : 0
PollIndex : 3
PollValue : 0x53
Memory Detail :

Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
eeprom 65 20 4 0 no 1024 4 0 3600 3600 0xff 0xff
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
flash 65 6 128 0 yes 32768 128 256 4500 4500 0xff 0xff
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
lfuse 0 0 0 0 no 1 0 0 4500 4500 0x00 0x00
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
hfuse 0 0 0 0 no 1 0 0 4500 4500 0x00 0x00
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
efuse 0 0 0 0 no 1 0 0 4500 4500 0x00 0x00
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
lock 0 0 0 0 no 1 0 0 4500 4500 0x00 0x00
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
calibration 0 0 0 0 no 1 0 0 0 0 0x00 0x00
Block Poll Page Polled
Memory Type Mode Delay Size Indx Paged Size Size #Pages MinW MaxW ReadBack
----------- ---- ----- ----- ---- ------ ------ ---- ------ ----- ----- ---------
signature 0 0 0 0 no 3 0 0 0 0 0x00 0x00

Programmer Type : usbasp
Description : USBasp, http://www.fischl.de/usbasp/

avrdude: auto set sck period (because given equals null)
avrdude: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude done. Thank you.

Now how on earth do I ovveride the check? It says to use -F. but where?
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 03:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 10:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 07:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 02:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 04:19 PM