SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2013, 09:40 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Hi Kha,
Can we have the option of analog RSSI?
I have an ET OSD and it requires an analog RSSI signal.
in the .ino file I dont see that option.
Could you please add that?
Thanks
Sp1k3
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2013, 09:57 AM
IceWind is offline
Find More Posts by IceWind
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,761 Posts
@Sp1k3, there is no way to get a proper analog output from this kit. It doesn't have a Digital-to-Analog converter.
What you can do is to use a RSSI buffer (search for that on google or in RCG) that will take care of that or look into the following URL where that is been discuss with ET
and they provide a way to use a PWM signal without the RSSI buffer.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1796761
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 09:58 AM
kha is online now
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,454 Posts
Well the rssi output is as analog as the atmega can do and that is a pwm signal.

To make it real analog a simple lowpass filtter is needed, many osd:s have tgis circuit already so try just connecting it.

If the rssi value jumps between 0 and 100 all the time you need to add a lowpass yourself.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:06 AM
kha is online now
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,454 Posts
Lowpass circuit
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:43 PM
CrashMeUp is offline
Find More Posts by CrashMeUp
Crashomatic
CrashMeUp's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined May 2010
2,160 Posts
Have some beer 6RS72752065499447
CrashMeUp is offline Find More Posts by CrashMeUp
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 08:19 PM
emadine is offline
Find More Posts by emadine
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
259 Posts
The tx is back in stock
emadine is offline Find More Posts by emadine
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:24 PM
Koo is offline
Koo
Find More Posts by Koo
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by emadine View Post
The tx is back in stock
Noticed, I got two emails about it from HK
I've been waiting for a month now because I missed the first batch. Luckily I picked up a tx and rx from another member just two days ago and can't wait to see how well they work.
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 02:25 AM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,451 Posts
Awesome! So finally I got mine reserved ...

Btw which coax would be cool to extend the position where I would connect the antenna, because i don't like that position on the back of the TX. Would rg56 be cool? or rg316?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 04:44 AM
pavn is offline
Find More Posts by pavn
Registered User
pavn's Avatar
Czech Republic, Olomouc
Joined Sep 2010
819 Posts
In the case I would like to replace TX antenna.

In the case I would like to replace TX antenna.

Do I need 433 MHz UHF antenna with SMA male, SMA female, TNC, BNC or something else?

What type is needed, please?
pavn is offline Find More Posts by pavn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:41 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
@Sp1k3, there is no way to get a proper analog output from this kit. It doesn't have a Digital-to-Analog converter.
What you can do is to use a RSSI buffer (search for that on google or in RCG) that will take care of that or look into the following URL where that is been discuss with ET
and they provide a way to use a PWM signal without the RSSI buffer.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1796761
OK Kha is saying that the it is PWM, what is the frenquency? 500Hz?
Can that be increased? Its easier to make a smaller lowpass filter if needed, I think ET has a LP in it, but i'll check with ET. Just wondering if it were possible to increase the Freq to somehwere in the kHz or MHz...
Thanks
Sp1k3
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:03 AM
IceWind is offline
Find More Posts by IceWind
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp1k3 View Post
OK Kha is saying that the it is PWM, what is the frenquency? 500Hz?
Can that be increased? Its easier to make a smaller lowpass filter if needed, I think ET has a LP in it, but i'll check with ET. Just wondering if it were possible to increase the Freq to somehwere in the kHz or MHz...
Thanks
Sp1k3
The ET OSD doesn't have a LP built-in, so what Bill suggest is to plug it into one of the PWM inputs, like the throttle input and just labelled it as RSSI. I'm not sure what's the currently PWM working frequency in the code but for this it would need to be the standard servos 50hz.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:21 AM
kha is online now
kha
Find More Posts by kha
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,454 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
The ET OSD doesn't have a LP built-in, so what Bill suggest is to plug it into one of the PWM inputs, like the throttle input and just labelled it as RSSI. I'm not sure what's the currently PWM working frequency in the code but for this it would need to be the standard servos 50hz.
I don't remember what the rate exactly is but it is not compatible with normal 'servo'.

I have been thinking raising the frequency to few kHz for stabler output with small RC filters and also allowing it to be set as 'normal' servo signal.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:32 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
I don't remember what the rate exactly is but it is not compatible with normal 'servo'.

I have been thinking raising the frequency to few kHz for stabler output with small RC filters and also allowing it to be set as 'normal' servo signal.
Yeah that would be mostly appreciated.
Bill's idea is good then, of course we would need to make sure it reaches the whole lenght of the servo extension to get 0-100% readings...
I think ET could make an update for that.

Kha I have another question:
-Once I have programmed the Tx, do I also need to program the Rx??? Or is the necessary info transferred during binding?
-and I had another question but cant remember it anymore :-D
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 08:35 AM
Sp1k3 is offline
Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
199 Posts
Oh yeah, I didn't quit get the buzzer? What buzzer should I use for a beacon on the Rx?
I know you are sending out a 435MHz chirp, but for people who dont have the equip. for searching for their platform in the woods, its nice to have a buzzer. Now the buzzer to use, would a simple one like the one sold at HK suffice?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...y_Buzzer_.html
Sp1k3 is offline Find More Posts by Sp1k3
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:00 PM
Koo is offline
Koo
Find More Posts by Koo
Koo
A semi-advanced FPV newbie
Koo's Avatar
United States, OH, Oxford
Joined Mar 2012
1,147 Posts
Has anyone used this UHF system with dragonOSD v2? If yes, could someone tell me how to get the PPM signal from this system that no I can use with the OSD?
Koo is offline Find More Posts by Koo
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 02:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 09:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 06:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 01:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 03:19 PM