HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:21 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,805 Posts
Hmh what is the packetlength define you added?
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:35 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,805 Posts
Hmh reminds I need to make that preamble longer. ..
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
541 Posts
That is my special test version, derived from your code before you added the bind goodie and other stuff. Nothing "flight worthy". I do use a 6 byte packet to test code. I dont mind sharing it, its just to experimental/bad to be intresting.

protocol
// 2 bits rf header seem enough to me
// protocol idea:
// 3 bytes per 2 channel. 9 bit data. 3 bit channel indicator. 12 bits * 2.
// 6 bytes -> 4 channels per message.
// no header. no tail.

// tx decides which channels need update
// determine old-new difference for each channel.
// send channels with biggest difference first.
// send all channels at slow rate, maybe reserve 1 channel data
// for scanning trough all 8 chan, and only send 3 diff channels

I have got the byte stuffing code, but no good / usable channel selection code yet.

RX --------------
{
int rxed[4];
unsigned char rxedno[4];

rxed[0] = rx_buf[0] + ((rx_buf[2] & 0x08) << 5);
rxed[1] = rx_buf[1] + ((rx_buf[2] & 0x80) << 1);
rxed[2] = rx_buf[3] + ((rx_buf[5] & 0x08) << 5);
rxed[3] = rx_buf[4] + ((rx_buf[5] & 0x80) << 1);

rxedno[0] = (rx_buf[2] & 0x07);
rxedno[1] = ((rx_buf[2] >> 4) & 0x07);
rxedno[2] = (rx_buf[5] & 0x07);
rxedno[3] = ((rx_buf[5] >> 4) & 0x07);

cli();
PPM[rxedno[0]]= (rxed[0] << 1);
PPM[rxedno[1]]= (rxed[1] << 1);
PPM[rxedno[2]]= (rxed[2] << 1);
PPM[rxedno[3]]= (rxed[3] << 1);
sei();
}

TX ---------------------------
{
int tosend[4];
unsigned char tosendno[4];
unsigned char i;

for (i=0;i<PPM_CHANNELS;i++) diff[i] = PPM[i] - OldPPM[i];

// sort diff.
actchan = 0;

for (i=0;i<PPM_CHANNELS;i++)
{
if ((diff[i] >= 3) | (diff[i] <= -3))
{
tosendno[actchan] = i;
actchan++;
OldPPM[i] = PPM[i];
}
if (actchan >= 4) exit;
}

cli(); // disable interrupts when copying servo positions, to avoid race on 2 byte variable
tx_buf[0] = (tosend[0] & 0xFF);
tx_buf[1] = (tosend[1] & 0xFF);
tx_buf[2] = ((tosend[0] >> 5) & 0x08) | ((tosend[1] >> 1) & 0x80);
tx_buf[2] |= (tosendno[0] & 0x07) | ((tosendno[1] & 0x07) << 4);
tx_buf[3] = (tosend[2] & 0xFF);
tx_buf[4] = (tosend[3] & 0xFF);
tx_buf[5] = ((tosend[2] >> 5) & 0x08) | ((tosend[3] >> 1) & 0x80);
tx_buf[5] |= (tosendno[2] & 0x07) | ((tosendno[3] & 0x07) << 4);
sei();

}
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:38 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,805 Posts
Got it.

I though of doing something like that decided not to. Under extreme conditions when maybe every 10th packet gets thru it is best to use single packet.

Currently it makes a guess jump twice but I'm going to extend that to full hopping cycle as the timing is accurate enough for that. Also I'm going to add satellite rx support really soon.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by kha; Jan 01, 2013 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 10:56 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
541 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
I'm going to add satellite rx support
I think ppm-sum satellite would be great. Use a frsky and openlrs receiver in parallel. 2.4g and 433m.
Redundant. Top of world. No-one else does this
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Last edited by Cesco; Jan 01, 2013 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 11:15 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
1,805 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cesco View Post
I think ppm-sum satellite would be great. Use a frsky and openlrs receiver in parallel. 2.4g and 433m.
Redundant. Top of world. No-one else does this
Well quite easy to do actually, just need a reliable way ro get fail info from secondary.

But I was more thinking of native openlrs slave connected via i2c this is quite easy to do and very little additional code.

Edit: actually rssi/validity from secondary is not mandatory. When olrs rx fails it goes to failsafw which is ppm passthru if we have valid ppm at input. I will add that.

Edit2: I need to do some rework to have one timer doing ppm in and out, of course the ppm in failsafe is active only when in ppm out mode. Nice thing is that this is completely separate from satellite mode thus both can be used at the same time.

There is actually few devices that can do 433/2.4 redundancy i.e RVOSD with its dual PPM inputs.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by kha; Jan 01, 2013 at 12:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 06:20 PM
Registered User
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,451 Posts
No videos of this system fpv

Sounds like it is very far from plug and play
And will be discontinued soon
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 02, 2013, 02:02 AM
Registered User
United States, NV, Verdi-Mogul
Joined Mar 2012
19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by David22 View Post
No videos of this system fpv

Sounds like it is very far from plug and play
And will be discontinued soon
I'm not sure what you're saying, or trying to say here, or even why you would believe this?

The modules work straight out of the box. I've been testing mine over the past couple of weeks with great sucess in stock form. Although I fly in a pretty unpopulated area it's nice to know that:

1. I have full control over the unit, pick my own frequencies according to the lcoal radio landscape, and that I can fly safely with other users with a quick drop into the code. That's not a huge issue, unless you're scared of a bit of tweaking.

2. That despite having an established user base (as it's openLRS remember) and declining enthusiasm on some forums, now HK has released a low-entry-cost version that there's ongoing development and new interest in improving an excellent codebase.

You just have to take it for what it is. It's not a high powered LRS, with the price tag to match. It's extraordinary good value for a hugely flexible 100mW solution.

Try googling "openlrs" for some examples of videos
henkster is offline Find More Posts by henkster
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 02:34 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,606 Posts
@henkster, what range did you got and when you say stock you mean not uploading any new version or same version of the software to the RX or TX?

Yesterday I finally managed to test mine and like what happened to my friend it lost signal and went into failsafe after no more than 30-40mts. I had made a dipole for the RX and using it made little or no difference.
Assuming that there is no problem with the hardware, they seem to be running on the minimum power setting (1dbm) as this was the range I was getting before while testing some other boards I have with the same hardware.
Making them unsuitable to fly with stock software, well if you keep flying in <40mts radius it should be fine.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 02:52 AM
censored
Joined Oct 2011
17 Posts
mts?
loopFPV is offline Find More Posts by loopFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 03:14 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,606 Posts
Yep 40 meters, and luckily I did the range test before flying if not I'd have crashed for sure...
I've set the alarm to be on when in failsafe so I could notice when it lost signal and that was it. Tried it even with FPV gear turned off just in case...


Oh and a word of caution about the failsafe. When it reconnects it puts channels at 50% for 1 or 2s something not good if you testing it with a multi copper and you're not aware.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Last edited by IceWind; Jan 02, 2013 at 08:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 04:04 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
541 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
Yep 40 meters
Which firmware did you use?
40m is indicating something is wrong. I get more than this when i have no antenna attached at all in the receiver. Check your connections, antennas, etc.
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 08:35 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,606 Posts
Stock fw. All was checked. I suspect they send them (or at least some), set to 1dbm.
I'm waiting for the 3.3v ftdi to load something different.
If HK wouldn't have been dumb and used 5v I would have done that already.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:09 PM
18t
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
121 Posts
agreed that this indicates a problem, I get much more range with video gear running and installed very close to the aircraft r/x (quadcopter). I don't think that they would ship with 1/100th the output power for any reason, you must be doing something wrong or there is an intermittent hardware problem like I had (prevented me from flying until fixed though).

Inside my transmitter, my rfm22b was barely soldered in a couple of places causing it to fail most of the time. Perhaps this is your problem and your movement causes it to loose contact.
18t is offline Find More Posts by 18t
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 12:13 PM
Raggistored Usehr
gooby's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,059 Posts
I hope hobbyking will fix these issues like they did with the orange rx dsm2 module.
gooby is online now Find More Posts by gooby
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 02:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 09:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 06:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 01:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 03:19 PM