HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:09 PM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,015 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovs View Post
So, pretty much the only reason why someone would get this over the frsky would be if they are using an FPV frequency other than 5.8ghz. The rc range seems to be the same as frsky.
Well there are other aspects. I.e. 433 penetrates forest much better than 2.4GHz.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
137 Posts
Flytron sells a 1W OpenLRS tx, would that work with the HK rx's?
mich75 is offline Find More Posts by mich75
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:32 AM
Registered User
RoboSerg's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovs View Post
So, pretty much the only reason why someone would get this over the frsky would be if they are using an FPV frequency other than 5.8ghz. The rc range seems to be the same as frsky.
What about the range? 2.4G gives you only 1-2km. What about 3-100km ? Not with 2.4G
RoboSerg is offline Find More Posts by RoboSerg
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:34 AM
Registered User
Spain
Joined Dec 2010
97 Posts
Yes, I have one and it works with open lrsng from kha ok at home.
I will test it soon at field.
Ernes is offline Find More Posts by Ernes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:51 AM
fpv addict
mrleenagle's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Nov 2007
921 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboSerg View Post
What about the range? 2.4G gives you only 1-2km. What about 3-100km ? Not with 2.4G
This is 2.4
FPV, 80km and back. 2.4Ghz RC. (3 min 34 sec)
mrleenagle is offline Find More Posts by mrleenagle
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:11 AM
Registered User
RoboSerg's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
478 Posts
He uses 2W booster and 14dBi patch. With 2W all the WiFi spots will drop like flies.
One is better off with 433mhz @ 60 mW
RoboSerg is offline Find More Posts by RoboSerg
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:20 AM
fpv denmark
Denmark, Syddanmark, Vejle
Joined Dec 2012
12 Posts
RoboSerg

is not true. i have the 2w booster too and its not affect the wifi routers around here, is not even touch the signal from my router.
aligbk is offline Find More Posts by aligbk
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:05 PM
Lowand Fast
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2012
82 Posts
Hey all, I need some help. I'm kind of a newbie to Arduino and I'm having trouble flashing my TX and RX. I'm using windows 7 on a laptop and the Usbasp from Hobbyking and I just can't seem to figure out how to flash these units. Arduino software has a serial port tab in tools menu that I just cannot get to work (Serial port tab is greyed out) Has anyone had experience with this program?
JAS3D is offline Find More Posts by JAS3D
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:32 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,691 Posts
Yep. Usbasp != FTDI

You need a 3.3v FTDI programmer.
Something like: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8772
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:51 PM
Lowand Fast
Australia, QLD, Gold Coast
Joined May 2012
82 Posts
Thank's IceWind. Just ordered one.
JAS3D is offline Find More Posts by JAS3D
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 06:20 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
569 Posts
You could use usbasp. But its not simple at all.

I do use Avrdragon since i got no 3.3V ftdi. The procedure is to compile the program with arduino, then search the %temp% directory for the newest buildxxxx directory and then get the newest xxx.cpp.hex file. I load this with avrstudio4 and burn it with avrdragon, you must use avrdude (very complicated) or another usbasp flash tool.

Another problem might be that usbasp works at 5V, not 3.3V. Be sure to disconnect the "target power" jumper. And still, you might burn something. Try at own risk.
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:48 AM
Registered User
RoboSerg's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
478 Posts
Why do you have to flash anything? Why dont they ship the modules pre-flashed? Seems silly to be, they are scaring customers off
RoboSerg is offline Find More Posts by RoboSerg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 09:11 AM
kha
openLRSng haxor
Finland, Espoo
Joined Mar 2011
2,015 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboSerg View Post
Why do you have to flash anything? Why dont they ship the modules pre-flashed? Seems silly to be, they are scaring customers off
Well the modules are pre flashed but what they have there is not a very good firmware to use due to static binding key.

So it will work but a second unflashed tx nearby will cause trouble.
kha is online now Find More Posts by kha
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 09:50 AM
Registered User
RoboSerg's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kha View Post
Well the modules are pre flashed but what they have there is not a very good firmware to use due to static binding key.

So it will work but a second unflashed tx nearby will cause trouble.
Ok thanks, now is the question whats the range on stock antennas. Weirdly no one still reported
RoboSerg is offline Find More Posts by RoboSerg
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 11:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
569 Posts
Sorry ... what i said about using the usbasp programmer for arduino i was completely wrong. It is quite simple to do so. Steps:

Remove the jumper from your HK usbasp like in the picture attached. This jumper sends 5V to the target, we dont want that. Use a normal 5V power supply for the orange opnlrs.

In the arduino sketch, select the usbasp programmer like in screenshot attached.

Connect the usbasp cable to the orange openlrs like in the picture attached.

Use the "upload with programmer" function of arduino like in screenshot attached.

I did test, and it works flawlessly here. You may get a "could not set SCK error", that is normal. Happy programming !
Cesco is offline Find More Posts by Cesco
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Anyone got a good 433mhz UHF RX Antenna? wamdue FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Feb 24, 2014 03:19 PM
Question 'Sander' 1/4 wave monopole - correct length for 433MHz UHF? Kahnx FPV Equipment 11 Dec 23, 2013 10:19 AM
For Sale Chainlink UHF system + few matching Rx's i3dm FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 22, 2012 07:58 AM
Discussion stiff antenna for 433Mhz UHF Rx ? i3dm FPV Talk 14 Feb 17, 2012 02:25 PM
Sold HK "Orange" Satellite for HK "Orange" Rx rikybob Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Jan 29, 2011 04:19 PM