HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 27, 2012, 04:22 PM
Joined Nov 2012
3 Posts
Help!
Great Planes Piper J-3 Cub .40 to electric

Building a Great Planes Piper J-3 Cub .40 size and want to try electric power. The kit's paperwork only refers to regular power and the manufacturer did not respond to my questions, so I am concerned that this kit is not so suitable for electric, although the hobby shop says it should work. I am looking at an EFlite Power 60 Outrunner with probably an 80 amp Pro Switch-mode BEC EC5, but would really like to hear from someone who has experience with this. Other suggestions, plus prop and battery ideas would be welcome! Though not a complete beginner, I am far from being an expert and haven't flown anything since diesel engines and dope were the norm, so I have some catching up to do! I do want to eventually add floats as we are surrounded by water, so I need enough power to do this, but not too much to make the plane harder to fly or get into heat problems by running it at less throttle.
EddH is offline Find More Posts by EddH
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:17 PM
Canada, ON, Barrie
Joined Jul 2012
6 Posts
I almost did the sam ething and asked Jeff at Head Up RC.

Here is his reply:..

Here is what I suggest if you really want to use your 3 cell 2200 Lipos:
Emax GT4020 700KV
Hifei 60A ESC OR HURC 60A OPTO ESC and a 3A UBEC (or receiver battery pack).
APC 11x5.5E prop
Two of your 3 cell 2200 30C batteries connected in series with a Series Battery Harness.
Adjustable Motor Mount or Nylon Spacers and bolts
This set up provides about 7 lbs of thrust, but your flight time will be relatively short, and you should avoid running much wide open throttle, as it would be hard on your batteries.
For longer flight times, you could buy two larger 3 cell batteries, or one 22.2v 4200 35C battery.

If you're willing to buy a 4 cell battery, then this set up would work:
Emax GT3526/05 motor