HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 06, 2013, 10:59 AM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,861 Posts
Thank-you for the quick reply Dennis. I'll look into it more and see what I can do.

Calvin
martinic is online now Find More Posts by martinic
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 06, 2013, 11:02 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinic View Post
Thank-you for the quick reply Dennis. I'll look into it more and see what I can do.

Calvin
NP, feel free to ask if you can't find it
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2013, 04:37 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,886 Posts
Amazing project ! Now i need to read zillion pages .. :-)
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 10:18 AM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,861 Posts
Dennis, I noticed that the transparency of the font is only an issue indoors with the PZ0420 camera in night mode. During normal outdoor use, the font is good.

I want to thank you for your work in developing this solution. I and others really appreciate the effort you have put into this. Thank-you for sharing.

Thanks to you and other open source developers, I now have one hardware platform for all my FPV models: standalone, Multiwii, Open Pilot and APM. This is all the OSD I need for my sport multirotor, my AP multirotor and my wing.

I am using the minimOSD hardware with your software.

A note that other may find helpful regarding the PPM support. I am using a Rangelink LRS and had incorrectly connected the PPM signal to pin 12 (PB0) using a voltage divider (for 3.3v to 1.1v). No divider is required; the full voltage from the PPM out from the receiver needs to be connected to the ATMega328 pin in order to register a state change. Once I removed the voltage divider, the PPM signal was correctly detected.

Calvin
martinic is online now Find More Posts by martinic
Last edited by martinic; Sep 11, 2013 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 05:59 AM
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristaps_r View Post
I noticed that there is no RSSI scaling for this OSD so I added that from DIY OSD:

#define rssi_cal 0.22
#define rssi_min 153

writeNumber((rssi_reading-rssi_min)*rssi_cal, 0, BUTLINE-1, 25);

Maybe this is worth adding to Denniss original code.
Can someone guide me where should i add this to the code. i have analog rssi...

Thanks
Farmer_Joe is offline Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 01:22 PM
Registered User
kristaps_r's Avatar
Latvia, Riga
Joined May 2010
648 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer_Joe View Post
Can someone guide me where should i add this to the code. i have analog rssi...

Thanks

In MAX7456_OSD.ino

writeNumber(rssi_reading, 0, BUTLINE-1, 25); --> writeNumber((rssi_reading-rssi_min)*rssi_cal, 0, BUTLINE-1, 25);

Add under #define SHOW_RSSI 1 in config.h:

#define rssi_cal 0.22 // 100*5/((V100-V0)*1023)
#define rssi_min 153 // V0*1023/5

Calculate your values. V0 is voltage at wich RSSI is 0%, V100 - 100%

Kristaps
kristaps_r is online now Find More Posts by kristaps_r
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 11:20 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Prescott Valley
Joined Feb 2012
178 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Munkee View Post
Step away for a few months and you come up with that beautiful little thing. Nice work Dennis!
Wowaaa ~!!! I agree.... Step away for a bit and you do something even more amazing !!! You do not stop
I keep thinking you are done, but then you just keep on improving things .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
This looks absolutely amazing !! I want one of these too

I'm still playing with the NANO version and now breaking down the code to do exactly what I want ... one little baby step at a time. Even making my own symbols thanks to all your help months ago !!

This is looking very attractive and compact...reducing all the wires and connectors to almost zip !!!

Excellent work Dennis
RickEis is offline Find More Posts by RickEis
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2013, 03:40 PM
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
415 Posts
kristaps_r - thanks it works great

I have problem with osd or my gps... because the summary at the end it gives me wrong (max LOS) distance.
Farmer_Joe is offline Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 10:55 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer_Joe View Post
kristaps_r - thanks it works great

I have problem with osd or my gps... because the summary at the end it gives me wrong (max LOS) distance.
Great to know
Is the LOS-summary by any chance in meters and not feets? That would be a obvious mistake
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 11:00 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickEis View Post
Wowaaa ~!!! I agree.... Step away for a bit and you do something even more amazing !!! You do not stop
I keep thinking you are done, but then you just keep on improving things .



This looks absolutely amazing !! I want one of these too

I'm still playing with the NANO version and now breaking down the code to do exactly what I want ... one little baby step at a time. Even making my own symbols thanks to all your help months ago !!

This is looking very attractive and compact...reducing all the wires and connectors to almost zip !!!

Excellent work Dennis
Thanks
Nice to hear you still use the OSD.

The integrated version with GPS was mainly a test. Unfortunately it seems like the GPS-reception is affected by all the electronic right next to it. I was aware of the problem, but had to give it a try

Next test-subject is this one, really need to squeeze as much on same board as possible, to keep the weight low in the small foam-planes

Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 11:09 AM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
Israel, Haifa
Joined Aug 2010
1,886 Posts
Are those being sold somewhere ?
guy1a is online now Find More Posts by guy1a
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 11:16 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy1a View Post
Are those being sold somewhere ?
No, that's just me fooling around and testing different possibilities
But integrated 3A supply for FPV-equipment, current-sensor, pressure sensor etc. on ~3 x 4 cm, that's gonna be a cute little device.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Sep 20, 2013 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 01:02 PM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,861 Posts
Wow - now that's cool! OSD with integrated current sensor, pressure sensor AND 3A supply in a super tiny format! That`s very practical and exciting! A remote GPS is a better option and gives flexibility. Looks really good Dennis - hope you test it and it goes well.

Calvin
martinic is online now Find More Posts by martinic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 05:54 PM
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
415 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Great to know
Is the LOS-summary by any chance in meters and not feets? That would be a obvious mistake
I must try again... i fly in meters, and LOS is always much further that i have been. Maybe it is in feets ?
Farmer_Joe is offline Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2013, 10:57 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
755 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer_Joe View Post
I must try again... i fly in meters, and LOS is always much further that i have been. Maybe it is in feets ?
I use meters too and have never experienced that problem. And you are sure it's max los that's wrong? Total distance is ofc something else


What GPS-unit do you use? A single bit-error in the UART communication will result in wrong coordinates and a wrong LOS-calculation. As this will only be visible in a single period (with 5 hz update-rate that's 1/5 sec) and you would probably never notice it while flying.
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 05:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 10:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 03:50 PM