SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 07, 2013, 11:11 PM
Living and Learning
United States, WV, Bridgeport
Joined Mar 2008
104 Posts
Turnigy nano-tech 2200mah 3S 45~90C In Stock at HK (USA Warehouse)

Get em while they're hot:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...753&aff=820240
fire-eyes is offline Find More Posts by fire-eyes
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2013, 11:21 PM
Living and Learning
United States, WV, Bridgeport
Joined Mar 2008
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northbound View Post
When I load the Assistant software, it requires registration at DJI. I go throught the registration process (email and password), and it says fine we sent you an email, follow the link in email to complete registration. I have tried twice and never got an email. The assistant checks the account and says I must complete registration. It seems to recognize I have applied for an account but of course not completed registration.

And yes, it is a valid gmail address. Maybe will try a different email provider.

Anyone else had this issue?
I had that issue when using a gmail address. Fortunately I have my own server / domain / mail stuff and used that. Then it popped through. My only guess is that they silently drop requests when it involves a gmail address. I _COULD_ be wrong.
fire-eyes is offline Find More Posts by fire-eyes
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2013, 11:27 PM
Living and Learning
United States, WV, Bridgeport
Joined Mar 2008
104 Posts
Can you tell us about the GPS tracker that you're using, HGT? That is pretty sweet. Thank you for your time.
fire-eyes is offline Find More Posts by fire-eyes
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:02 AM
Registered User
branflakes's Avatar
Joined Jan 2011
2,310 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire-eyes View Post

The phantom and must have upgrades have far exceeded the planned budget for this tax return. Yes I bought some.
branflakes is offline Find More Posts by branflakes
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:09 AM
Living and Learning
United States, WV, Bridgeport
Joined Mar 2008
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by branflakes View Post
The phantom and must have upgrades have far exceeded the planned budget for this tax return. Yes I bought some.
Heh heh... I got sick of waiting for these and got the 60-135C's... 30 bucks each. once I got those THEN these were back in stock. But I still ordered 3 more... that will make 7 batteries... I'm insane!
fire-eyes is offline Find More Posts by fire-eyes
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 12:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
433 Posts
45-90C ? What do you guys need more than 30C for ?

Somebody out here logging peak currents of the Phantom ? More than 50A ?
gervais is offline Find More Posts by gervais
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Some pics out of my collection
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 01:12 AM
Living and Learning
United States, WV, Bridgeport
Joined Mar 2008
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gervais View Post
45-90C ? What do you guys need more than 30C for ?

Somebody out here logging peak currents of the Phantom ? More than 50A ?
It fits and has a high charge rate. The price is also right.
fire-eyes is offline Find More Posts by fire-eyes
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire-eyes View Post
Aren't these WAY too big for the Phantom?

I have these: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10279 and they are a PITA to install! The fit it so tight that I usually spend 15-20 seconds to install them into the Phantom (and that is with shorter wires). The XT60 female connector on the Phantom get stuck between the battery and top plate in the battery compartment.
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:18 AM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen View Post
Aren't these WAY too big for the Phantom?

I have these: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10279 and they are a PITA to install! The fit it so tight that I usually spend 15-20 seconds to install them into the Phantom (and that is with shorter wires). The XT60 female connector on the Phantom get stuck between the battery and top plate in the battery compartment.
Why bother buying 40C packs or higher when the phantom does not need it?

The 20C lipos are more than enough and they fit the same as the stock lipo
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 02:34 AM
DJI Phantom pilot
The Netherlands, GE, Culemborg
Joined Jan 2013
242 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffteeh View Post
I don't want to waste more bandwidth, I will stop here.

I really like to remind all players, especially FPV players, PLEASE turn off
WiFi when you fly phantom, as DJI suggested, even if the risk is uncertain and very low!
Sorry jeffteeh, I'm with HighGainTuning.

For me 40 years as an RC pilot does count for something.
Also: HighGainTuning is an Electrical Engineer for 30 years who intimately knows Wifi etc.

He has PROVEN scientifically that there will be no interference.

Where is your proof that there will be interference?
How much experience do you have as an EE or as RC pilot or both?

As a scientist I will believe HighGainTuning since he offered proof.
DutchVince is offline Find More Posts by DutchVince
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 03:59 AM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire-eyes View Post
Can you tell us about the GPS tracker that you're using, HGT? That is pretty sweet. Thank you for your time.
http://global.mobileaction.com/produ...i-gotU_USB.jsp

Small, light, self contained battery, does altitude and includes software
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 04:02 AM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gervais View Post
45-90C ? What do you guys need more than 30C for ?

Somebody out here logging peak currents of the Phantom ? More than 50A ?
This ESC testing is for 1 ESC. You cannot multiply it by 4 as the batteries voltage drop will affect overall current. I am estimating Less than 30 amps for the entire Phantom. The Phantom ESC's use 1) 12amp and 1) 18amp MOSFET so there are really only 12 amp ESC's

DJI Phantom ESC testing (3 min 8 sec)

Phantom esc (2 min 4 sec)
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Last edited by HGT; Mar 08, 2013 at 04:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 05:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2002
665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpilot23 View Post
Why bother buying 40C packs or higher when the phantom does not need it?

The 20C lipos are more than enough and they fit the same as the stock lipo
In general the 20C is "enough" to fly the Phantom but higher C-rated pack also has a few advantages. I have even testing different C-rated packs to prepare for my FPV. My main goal is to have enough time to land before the fail safe landing kicks because of the terrain I plan to fly. When the battery is gettig low, say 1000 mAh left, if the Phantom requires 20 amp to fly then it is about the border line. So you may have 30 second or so before the FS kicks in. With higher C-rated one, I timed the flight and found that Ihave more than a full minute. All the 20c packs I tested, at the end of the flight when the Phantom started to descend, no matter how much higher I raise the throttle, it will continue to drop until it lands. But with higher C-rated pack, I can still use the throttle to hold it for 30 seconds or more. This may make a different between a sasafe or crash landing, especially when you're flying over the water. Higher C-rated pack also give you a much quicker climb should you need to.
Yes, I set the voltage for FS higher than default but the higher C-rated pack gives me more confidence.
tanasit is offline Find More Posts by tanasit
Last edited by tanasit; Mar 08, 2013 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 05:28 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,125 Posts
Higher C rated packs can also help when using them in the cold.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 05:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2002
665 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen View Post
Aren't these WAY too big for the Phantom?

I have these: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10279 and they are a PITA to install! The fit it so tight that I usually spend 15-20 seconds to install them into the Phantom (and that is with shorter wires). The XT60 female connector on the Phantom get stuck between the battery and top plate in the battery compartment.
To help ease in the battery, as many had already done that is to cut a notch on the frame of the door. The larger opening will let you insert the connectors in easier. I also rounded off the sharp corners of the connectors. And lastly, I found out that the culprit of this issue is the zip tie that holds the USB cable to the board. I removed it and used the tape instead. Lastly most Turnigy packs have too long wires, so I cut about 2" off. PS. The USB connector should be pull back bend over and tuck inside the top left arm's cavity not letting it sit inside the battery compartment. ☺
tanasit is offline Find More Posts by tanasit
Last edited by tanasit; Mar 08, 2013 at 10:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM