SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 24, 2013, 03:53 AM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,315 Posts
Enabled manual mode and was doing some loops and rolls today
uploading a video of the last flight that was a bit too close to the ground
The Graupner props really improve the handling in the wind
The Graupner Props stop all jello as will see in my video but not always.
The isolation mount should take care of the rest.
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Last edited by rcpilot23; Feb 24, 2013 at 04:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2013, 03:59 AM
Registered User
Japan, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka
Joined Jun 2012
852 Posts
I think I need a good gimble, anyone sell a cheap gimble that I can use to shoot at 2k and get good clear smooth video? I need something to get rid of the left and right movement so much for smooth stable clear video.
Bravia3D is offline Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 04:15 AM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,315 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
I think I need a good gimble, anyone sell a cheap gimble that I can use to shoot at 2k and get good clear smooth video? I need something to get rid of the left and right movement so much for smooth stable clear video.
Have you balanced the props? or replaced them with Graupner 8x5 props?

First place to start.
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 04:25 AM
Registered User
Japan, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka
Joined Jun 2012
852 Posts
Can't find Graupner in Japan sadly. May have to buy some from the states.
Bravia3D is offline Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 04:38 AM
HelicoMicro
fredbotton's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Dec 2012
125 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffteeh View Post
I have the same problem. Typically what I did was to fly it 50 feet away and turn it 90 degrees (nose ahead to my left or right); switch to GPS mode, parking it in the air; switch to HL (I have enabled it), pulled the pitch stick down a bit. If the phantom was flying back towards me, I knew my Home point saved.
Then I turn off HL, and switch to Atti to fly around. But I knew HL is available at any time if I needed, and failsafe may bring it home.
It works Many thanks for your reply!
fredbotton is offline Find More Posts by fredbotton
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:05 AM
Michael young
Mickey98four's Avatar
United Kingdom, Foxton
Joined Aug 2011
124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
I know that grasping the motor bell on Phantom is difficult due to the Phantom body.
I'd be careful squeezing the motor bell with those padded jaw pliers.
They appear to be giving you quite a mechanical advantage.
That could easily cause you to distort or warp the motor bell.
If you are keen on grasping the motor bell to prevent turning while you tighten props, I'd look into a small hook wrench that would engage one of the fins on the motor bell.
My home made C spanner very easy to make took me an hour.
Mickey98four is offline Find More Posts by Mickey98four
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:13 AM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,315 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
Can't find Graupner in Japan sadly. May have to buy some from the states.
I bought mine from

http://www.gothelirc.com/shopdisplay...Graupner+Props

8x5 E props

2 x left and 2 x right

I had to drill them out to 8mm hole
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:25 AM
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Perth, Western Australia
Joined Feb 2007
1,315 Posts
Here is my loop and roll today a little low today

DJI Phantom Manual Mode loops & rolls & nearly crash Gopro 3 Black (1 min 17 sec)
rcpilot23 is offline Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:31 AM
Michael young
Mickey98four's Avatar
United Kingdom, Foxton
Joined Aug 2011
124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpilot23 View Post
Here is my loop and roll today a little low today

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CgX2...ature=youtu.be
woa im scared to even engage manual mode.
How do i practice it without cashing?
Mickey98four is offline Find More Posts by Mickey98four
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
165 Posts
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I will give it a try in the morning and advise progress.

Cheers

David
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighGainTuning View Post
The beep sounds like the reset beep you get when resetting the NAZA by shorting F1-F2

Try a reset this way
Short F1-F2
Plug in the battery
Wait for it to beep
Unplugg the battery
Unplug the shorting bar

Plug into the NAZA assistant with nothing in F1 or F2
Plug in the battery
See if Assistant will connect

Double check that your status LED and GPS are in the correct plugs and in the correct orientation. No status LED and no connection to the assistant sounds like it isn't plugged in.
Oztravels is offline Find More Posts by Oztravels
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:37 AM
Registered User
Japan, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka
Joined Jun 2012
852 Posts
Thanks, I shall check into them. I prefer them pre-drilled and balanced though as I don't have a drill and it saves me some time.

I got some video today with my isolation mount I made, it's not perfect and still has a bit of jello but not as bad. It was pretty windy so much bouncing around.

My Phantom Test Flight 2k (10 min 32 sec)


I got one last idea to try to rid my jello problem, if it fails I think I shall by one of those wire rope mounts. They seem pretty good.
Bravia3D is offline Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 05:39 AM
Registered User
Japan, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka
Joined Jun 2012
852 Posts
Woah now, can the Phantom do loops and rolls? How did you do that WOW! By the way, RcPilot did you get your wire mount and can you test it at 2k 30fps?
Bravia3D is offline Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:02 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sly5789 View Post
Don't want to chance with graupner 8 inch prop due to concerns abou using locktigt, nylon locks or washers. But has anyone order the black dji 8 inch prop from this website http://http://www.atlantahobby.com/Store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=16590&idcategory=969. If so is it a perfect fit, with no modification. There is no further info from that site. If not ill call them monday to get specifics.

Thanks
The standard DJI black 8" props for the F450, 550, 330 will fit fine, same prop only black. The video I posted yesterday is with DJI black props on front. The one pictured in your link however I think is wrong, it says DJI prop but they do not has adapters like are shown.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:05 AM
DJI Phantom pilot
The Netherlands, GE, Culemborg
Joined Jan 2013
242 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpilot23 View Post
Here is my loop and roll today a little low today

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CgX2...ature=youtu.be
That looks like fun!
I see that you are an experienced RC pilot

Could you tell me what joystick movements you do to make a looping and a roll?
Thank you!
DutchVince is offline Find More Posts by DutchVince
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 06:09 AM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
Woah now, can the Phantom do loops and rolls? How did you do that WOW! By the way, RcPilot did you get your wire mount and can you test it at 2k 30fps?
In manual mode and with a good pilot

Be aware that in manual mode with the stock gopro mounting it will be front heavy. So best to fly manual with no gopro otherwise you need to compensate for the forward cg with some back elevator input.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 11:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 01:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 03:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 02:27 PM