HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 05, 2013, 01:05 AM
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
South Orange County, CA
Joined Mar 2003
7,872 Posts
We will offer these mounts at www.tppacks.com, starting in a couple days.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline Find More Posts by GGoodrum
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 05, 2013, 01:49 AM
Registered User
Japan, Fukuoka Prefecture, Fukuoka
Joined Jun 2012
710 Posts
Sounds great, can't wait. I'll buy the package deal with the props. Will those props fit perfectly or would I need washers?
Bravia3D is offline Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 02:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGoodrum View Post
We will offer these mounts at www.tppacks.com, starting in a couple days.

-- Gary
Awesome. Put me down for one. I LOVE the look of that isolation mount. Please remember to set the international shipping rates on your page. Mine is going to Norway


Will your gimbal be made for this mount? So when I get this mount, that I don't have to buy another mount once your gimbal is released?

I would also like the props included
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:08 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
679 Posts
Anyone know the max charge rate of the stock DJI Phantom battery? 1c?2c?3c?
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:16 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
7,836 Posts
The charger is rated at 3A.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Photogrammetry Solution
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:26 AM
Former IAF pilot. Retired
kosem's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Apr 2012
780 Posts
Yes, I charge mine at 3A and after something like 50 charges the stock lipo seems rock solid.
kosem is offline Find More Posts by kosem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:37 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jan 2013
270 Posts
Doesn't hurt to have the 2.5 levels of isolation but the RX100 has pretty amazing stabilization and I got great results just using an earplug-like isolation mount. I don't even have my Phantom anymore but it's really cool seeing all these great parts come out for it -

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGoodrum View Post
Thanks.

Yes, there are two levels of isolation, the silicon isolators in the crosspieces that are at the LG mounting points, and then at the point that the mounting plate attaches to the crosspieces. The mounting plate has actually two different isolation elements, four rubber grommets in the plate, and then some silicon tubing on either side of the grommets. For the RX100, we are thinking we will have a square cage that the RX100 sits in, and then the top plate of this cage will basically be the mounting plate, with the grommets and the silicon tubing. On our larger gimbals, like the AG600, we have to add a secondary baseplate that uses some special rubber "feet", called EARs, that goes between the plate the RX100 attaches to and the normal baseplate, in order to get rid of the jello. I think in this case, the 2-1/2 levels of isolation on the Phantom mount should be enough. We'll see.

-- Gary
kazkioken is offline Find More Posts by kazkioken
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kosem View Post
Yes, I charge mine at 3A and after something like 50 charges the stock lipo seems rock solid.
Thanks, but 3A is only 1.3C, my PL8 will do 40A/18C on this battery I ordered some Turnigy batteries that can charge at 11A/5C, so charging time will only be 10 min or so compared to 50 minutes it takes on 1C (2.2A).
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:42 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
7,836 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beamen View Post
Thanks, but 3A is only 1.3C, my PL8 will do 40A/18C on this battery I ordered some Turnigy batteries that can charge at 5C/11A, so charging time will only be 10 min or so compared to 50 minutes it takes on 1C (2.2A).
I have a Hyperon 720 and I can charge at 5C on two lipos at the same time but that was not the question. The Phantom charger is not the speed king of chargers. Get a real charger if you want to charge in a short time which it appears you have.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Last edited by Tahoe Ed; Feb 05, 2013 at 03:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
I have a Hyperon 720 and I can charge at 3C on two lipos at the same time but that was not the question.
I was just explaining to him that 3A on the stock charger is not the "fastest" setting, on the charger, yes, not on the battery I'm still wondering what the charge rating of the stock battery is

The PL8 can do 6 2200mah batteries at 3C
beamen is offline Find More Posts by beamen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 03:50 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
7,836 Posts
I can charge it a 6.6C. But i won't. More like 4C.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Photogrammetry Solution
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 05:30 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
11 Posts
The first time the Phantom flies in a place as special as La Sagrada Familia.
Quite an honor and a treat.

When processing the material I'll show (really spectacular and jello free 100%, only with graupners).

Now a little teaser!

Volando por la Sagrada Familia - DJI Phantom (0 min 58 sec)
joanlesan is offline Find More Posts by joanlesan
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 05:50 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Cambridge
Joined Jan 2013
10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joanlesan View Post
The first time the Phantom flies in a place as special as La Sagrada Familia.
Quite an honor and a treat.

When processing the material I'll show (really spectacular and jello free 100%, only with graupners).

Now a little teaser!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZAJGYNn0cBo
That's awesome!
epicdream is offline Find More Posts by epicdream
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 06:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
394 Posts
Regarding that isolated mount, how does offset the camera that much affect CG? Seems like a significant move off center for the second heaviest thing strapped to the quad, Just asking as I'm been wanting to do it myself! And you beat me to the wooden props! Get some this morning at the LHS.
FITandFUEL is offline Find More Posts by FITandFUEL
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2013, 08:11 AM
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
United States, IL, Chicago
Joined Sep 2004
3,367 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Lorentzen View Post
.... and running it through Mercalli is the single simplest way to get stable clean 1080p without having a micro gimbal on the phantom. ....

Which version of Mercalli are you using? I've seen versions from $19.99 TO $249
kallend is offline Find More Posts by kallend
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM