HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:16 PM
Former IAF pilot. Retired
kosem's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Apr 2012
780 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskim View Post
To follow up on an earlier question, what happens when the compass gets disconnected when you are in GPS mode?

Is it a failsafe reaction, or does the Phantom just go out of control?

Thanks
If the connection with the compass is lost, NAZA is blind and you are done with your week-end!
kosem is offline Find More Posts by kosem
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:23 PM
Videographer/Product Reviews
daskim's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
1,773 Posts
Thanks.

That's what I thought.
daskim is offline Find More Posts by daskim
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:49 PM
SvP
Registered User
SvP's Avatar
Sweden, Stockholm County
Joined May 2011
177 Posts
Anyone test this cam ?

Is it anyone how has test thisone on phantom ?

Looks like a sweet FPV cam. 100 USD

http://www.boscam.cn/productshow.asp?id=19
SvP is online now Find More Posts by SvP
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:01 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
I don't know how specific you want. The manual stated the use of 3S, and it has been warned not to use 4S.
I know this... read it many times with no specific reason why

Anyone uses DJI F450, F550 and F330 know (as stated in manual) and on the motor 3S for 10x5 props, 4S for 8x5 props.
I think your backwards here as the Phantom has 8X5 props.

And DJI 30 amp opto handles up to 4S, while the ESC for Phantom is rated for 3S. This is what I was looking for. Where is this published?


You certainly can use 4S at your own risk. I wonder what the ambient temperature was.
50F

Now, if you are in Southern Hemisphere this time of the year, I'd day you got lucky
33 years as an Electrical Engineer, I don't base my results on luck. When it comes to ESC failure it is heat failure from high current flow that damages the ESC... NOT VOLTAGE. If you want an in depth write-up how this works I can do that. In GPS and ATTI mode the NAZA M regulates what the ESC's let the motors have. In manual mode that is definitely a different story and I was limiting the high current followed by time to cool down.


.....
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:06 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvP View Post
Is it anyone how has test thisone on phantom ?

Looks like a sweet FPV cam. 100 USD

http://www.boscam.cn/productshow.asp?id=19
Further choices and specs here.
http://www.fpvmodel.com/boscam-explo...mera_p386.html
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:07 PM
Registered User
Lake Zurich, IL
Joined Jan 2008
5,654 Posts
HighGain; then I don't know why you raised the question since you have the answer already.
sidneyw is offline Find More Posts by sidneyw
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:13 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Lorentzen View Post
@HighGain
This is the ones Im aware of at the moment

LIST of available 2 axis gimbal designed with the Phantom in mind.

The cool LL mount from quadframe - I have one of these and they work well.
http://quadframe.com/collections/cm/products/g01k

Tonys CF mount with underslung battery. - I like the underslung battery for its effect on jello
http://www.rc-drones.com/rcd-phantomount-x2.php

And Good Luck Buy is offering a suspended 2 axis job as well
(why would a chinese mail order company pick that name for the company?)
http://www.goodluckbuy.com/two-axis-...uadcopter.html
Thanks for the links Bo

Many designs here to learn from... simple to complicated, cheap to very expensive. Anything can be scaled down
http://www.fpvmodel.com/gimbal-for-g...iber_p132.html
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:23 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
HighGain; then I don't know why you raised the question since you have the answer already.
I don't have the answer.... Read again.

And DJI 30 amp opto handles up to 4S, while the ESC for Phantom is rated for 3S. This is what I was looking for Where is this published?
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Last edited by HGT; Feb 02, 2013 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:29 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Have you checked everything in Assistant to make sure that all the sensors are registering and you are not getting any error messages. I would try and do the advanced calibration on the sensors and then recalibrate the compass. You are not really clear on "it falls to the side". Does it flip, drift ????
Yeah it flips on take off. I re-calibrated the compass and Im not getting any error messages. It flips on both atti and gps mode. Where can I find assistant to make sure all the sensors are registering?

Thanks
andrewsnts is offline Find More Posts by andrewsnts
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:43 PM
Former IAF pilot. Retired
kosem's Avatar
France, IdF, Paris
Joined Apr 2012
780 Posts
Here you are:
http://www.dji-innovations.com/produ...tom/downloads/
kosem is offline Find More Posts by kosem
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:47 PM
SvP
Registered User
SvP's Avatar
Sweden, Stockholm County
Joined May 2011
177 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighGainTuning View Post
Boscam offer 130 usd shipped to my adress.
SvP is online now Find More Posts by SvP
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:50 PM
Registered User
R Hudson's Avatar
Waukesha, WI
Joined Dec 2002
563 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsnts View Post
Yeah it flips on take off. I re-calibrated the compass and Im not getting any error messages. It flips on both atti and gps mode. Where can I find assistant to make sure all the sensors are registering?

Thanks
I know this is very basic level but just to be thorough, are you sure your props are on correctly? Did you replace any props following the crash?

Sorry if this is being too obvious. Just another thing to check
R Hudson is offline Find More Posts by R Hudson
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Hudson View Post
I know this is very basic level but just to be thorough, are you sure your props are on correctly? Did you replace any props following the crash?

Sorry if this is being too obvious. Just another thing to check
Yea thanks, I checked they are all on properly. I did change them after the crash but it was only cause very minor scratches. But I changed them just to make sure.
andrewsnts is offline Find More Posts by andrewsnts
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:05 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsnts View Post
Just got the phantom and had my first crash. Now when I try to take off a flat surface it falls to the side. Any Ideas on what this might be?
If you a getting 4-5 fast green flashes even when stationary, the IMU is going haywire and thinks the bird is moving when it isn't.

I don't know why it gets in this mode, mine did this a few times and doing basic calibration in assistant seems to fix it, but it can come back.

I think that if the airframe gets moved at the wrong moment during initialization, the gyro locks indicating a permanent roll, yaw or pitch.

I need to watch the DJI vids again to see when the battery door should be closed up...
richardtheboffin is offline Find More Posts by richardtheboffin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:10 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsnts View Post
Yea thanks, I checked they are all on properly. I did change them after the crash but it was only cause very minor scratches. But I changed them just to make sure.
So just to make sure as this is the primary reason: The arrows on the props match the arrows on the hull?

If you do a start-up of the motors and leave the sticks still so they shut down, are the motors shutting down all at the same time? Try this 4-5 times in a row. Bring the sticks to the motor start up position and release till they shut down. They should start and stop very evenly and at the same time.

Can you have someone shoot some video?
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 11:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 01:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 03:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 02:27 PM