Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:09 PM
Triple Tree Aerodrome
heli001's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Feb 2002
406 Posts
We use the Turnigy Nanao Tech 2200 3S 25-50C. They are identical in size and come standard with the XT60 connector. they fit exactly like the stock Phantom battery and give the same flight times.
heli001 is offline Find More Posts by heli001
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:10 PM
Registered User
rudeboy78's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
68 Posts
yep its a 3s i have 2 thunder power batteries although mine are 2250mah, old ones from a heli but still working fine and fit the phantom, balance plug is a different type than the stock phantom so wont fit the stock charger, i dont use stock charger and have balance boards for most types of plugs!!
rudeboy78 is offline Find More Posts by rudeboy78
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:24 PM
Registered User
Wheels_UK's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birkenhead
Joined Dec 2012
107 Posts
I have just balanced my stock props. the amount of tape has varied from 10mm to 20 mm. hopefully I should have illiminated a little more jello. Weather permitting I shall runs some tests






I've been getting more use to how low and close I can get to things, also hit 300subs on YT! woo! made a little video with no stabilisation. I have just got metal geared digital servo to make a 1 axis gimbal too

300 Subscribers! Thank you (3 min 16 sec)
Wheels_UK is offline Find More Posts by Wheels_UK
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:34 PM
Quad Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
1,012 Posts
Thanks, look at edited post.
Jumanoc is offline Find More Posts by Jumanoc
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:37 PM
Quad Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
1,012 Posts
Hello,
When I bought Phantom, dealer recommend me this additional batteries. I see it has 2s connector (stock has 3s), and this is 2100 mAh (stock is 2200 mAh).

Questions: 1) Is this battery adequated for Phantom? 2) Can I use stock charger with it?
Thanks ahead.

Edited: the description shows ...3S... but the connector is smaller than stock's and just fit in the first charger slot (leftmost)
Jumanoc is offline Find More Posts by Jumanoc
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Jumanoc; Jan 21, 2013 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Better image shown
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:39 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,967 Posts
It is 3S but uses a different balance plug. Hyperion Lipos also use a different balance lead. So you can charge it but not be able to balance it on the stock charger.

Thunder Power uses their own connector type, the more common is JST-XH which the stock Phantom uses.

There are adapters you can get I believe.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:42 PM
Quad Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
1,012 Posts
Sorry but I'm newbie with "balance" and Lipo's 3S... 2S... etc.. What happend if I charge with stock charger and no balance? any damage? shorter flight time?. Which are best batteries balance options and I can use with stock charger? Thanks
Jumanoc is offline Find More Posts by Jumanoc
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Jumanoc; Jan 21, 2013 at 02:45 PM. Reason: New question
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:44 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
6,967 Posts
The balancing keeps all 3 cells at the same voltage. Over time they can vary and it will take life off the lipo as one cell ends up taking more load than the others and is overcharged/discharged.

I would need to test if the stock Phantom charger requires the balance leads to be connected to do a charge but many chargers do not for doing a straight charge vs balanced charge.
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:46 PM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Dec 2011
613 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitelab View Post

There are adapters you can get I believe.
We have the 3s adapter for TP TO JSTXH here.

http://gothelirc.com/shopdisplayprod...2FAlign%2FEsky
GotHeliRC is offline Find More Posts by GotHeliRC
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:49 PM
Quad Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
1,012 Posts
So... anybody knows where can I buy 2 stock batteries or non stock better batteries + charger?
Jumanoc is offline Find More Posts by Jumanoc
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 21, 2013, 02:51 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,498 Posts
Phantom + wind

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahtiram View Post
how good is the phantom in the wind?
I'm used to flying my F450 (and F550) at my windy flying site.
Saturday I maidened the Phantom in a constant 7 mph wind with 10 to 12 mph gusts.
In Atti you need a little indoctrination to be comfortable with wind.
At first, have your back to it so the Phantom doesn't get blown into you.
In GPS, the Phantom maintained position without much twitching or altitude variation.
I'm pleased with the out of the box settings.
Remember to calibrate your compass.
I think balancing the props helps with stability, but it's not a necessity...
"The wind is your friend!"
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: "In Stock"
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:00 PM
Quad Pilot
Jumanoc's Avatar
Joined Jan 2013
1,012 Posts
Hello,


If I use stock charger to charge this one? which amp select? 1A, 2A 3A?
Final question: Where can I buy 2 Phantom stock batteries?
Jumanoc is offline Find More Posts by Jumanoc
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:01 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jan 2013
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumanoc View Post
So... anybody knows where can I buy 2 stock batteries or non stock better batteries + charger?
I got Hyperions and a Hyperion charger from Tony at Rc-drones.com

you can even get larger ones that mount on the bottom of the phantom with more capacity - but stock size with xt60 connectors there are plenty of options - also if you search in this thread there are other examples
kazkioken is offline Find More Posts by kazkioken
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:02 PM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,498 Posts
Stock Charger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumanoc View Post
Sorry but I'm newbie with "balance" and Lipo's 3S... 2S... etc.. What happend if I charge with stock charger and no balance? any damage? shorter flight time?. Which are best batteries balance options and I can use with stock charger? Thanks
Read the Battery and Charger Instructions...
http://download.dji-innovations.com/...nstruction.pdf
The stock charger is a balance charger.
That's why you have to connect the balance plug to the side of the charger.

You have purchased batteries that can't connect to the Phantom charger because of the connectors not being compatible.
Since you are a novice, get some help changing the connectors or exchange the batteries for some with the correct connectors.

Warning! If you short the pos & neg leads on a lipo battery, serious consequences such as fire and/or explosion can occur. Again... Get help!

As far as battery choices, several have been listed here.
FWIW, almost any 3S 2200mAh lipo falls into the size range that will fit Phantom.
Not all will have the XT60 connector.
Earlier today someone posted the size of the battery bay...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Jan 21, 2013 at 03:11 PM. Reason: Comments...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 03:03 PM
DJI Phantom pilot
The Netherlands, GE, Culemborg
Joined Jan 2013
242 Posts
This thread is great! Enjoying the read!

Question 1:
after the startup sequence I get:
GREEN-YELLOW-YELLOW-YELLOW-YELLOW (yellow very fast)
This means it is still warming up, right?
What I do to warm up faster: do a low hover and then the Yellows disappear very quickly, but is this OK or am I taking stupid risks?

Question 2:
Course lock works very well I can spin and fly in a straight line at the same time
But my Home Lock does exactly the same ???

It keeps flying in rectangular mode so to speak, and I can do the same things as in CL. But when I return the Phantom to home and then let it fly over me I suddenly have to reverse forward and right-left controls. Although I can fly "inverted" OK I was under the impression that forward should send it away and backward should pull it towards me. left-right should describe circles with home in the center, right?


Hmm it just occurred to me that after returning to home and passing over me it might have been within 10 meters of me. I'll try this again tomorrow.

Question 3:
When all is well in GPS mode it has a slow GREEN blink like this:
GREEN-------------------------GREEN---------------------
But sometime it has a GREEN double blink like this:
GREEN-GREEN------------------------GREEN-GREEN--------------------
Is this because I am touching the controls?

Thx very much in advance!
DutchVince is offline Find More Posts by DutchVince
Last edited by DutchVince; Jan 21, 2013 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM