HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:07 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Cambridge
Joined Jan 2013
10 Posts
Here's a question from a noob flyer (got mine a couple of days ago and love it).

Regarding balancing, I see that some people use tape on their props rather than sanding down, my question is, will any clear tape be fine? I'm assuming that the thinner the tape, the better so that you can make finer adjustments?

Sorry if this info is available elsewhere.

Cheers!
epicdream is offline Find More Posts by epicdream
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:08 AM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,937 Posts
Thanks, Tony!
Tahoe Ed is online now Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:15 AM
Registered User
Lake Zurich, IL
Joined Jan 2008
5,654 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
Flew Phantom for the first time yesterday.
Went through 3 batteries.
Constant 7 mph wind with 10 to 12 mph gusts.
Phantom out of the box with no tweaking flew as well as my F450 that has been tweaked several times.
GPS locked in and made Phantom "hang in the sky like the moon".
This thing is a great intro platform.
BTW, the white DJI props included with the RTF needed considerable balancing.
~33mm of cellophane tape on one blade of all four props.
I'd recommend balancing your props to enhance your flying experience.
Phantom is designed just for that; for beginner to gain more stick time with nothing to adjust. Until they get comfortable in flying all orientations, gain the experience before they go into mounting GoPro, FPV and toying around with all the settings.

I have no problem with stock props; until I mount the GoPro and balance the props slightly. We are complicating something meant to be simple at the beginning.

I remember setting fail-safe alone takes more than 100 posts ... and using radio/receiver gears that are not fail-safe ready.

I have four radios (8FG, XG8, DSX11 and Hitec Optic), F330, F450, F550, S-800 still I enjoy the Phantom RTF.
sidneyw is offline Find More Posts by sidneyw
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:15 AM
Registered User
SeniorSpan's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Nov 2004
268 Posts
T.J,

As the Phantom appears to be similar in size to the F450, curiosity is demanding I ask, can you determine what the "out of the box into the air" gain values are are set at, or did you have to do some tweaking?

Thanks

Bob
SeniorSpan is offline Find More Posts by SeniorSpan
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:32 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,951 Posts
Prop Balancer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Nice report TJ. Do you have a link for those that don't know how to balance props?
I have the fancy magnetic balancer, but actually prefer one like below.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBFRT&P=7
On a DJI prop, you use one cone side and one flat side on the knurled nuts.
The technique is the same as Z06 Tony posted (Thanks, Tony).
The fingertip balancer in the link is very accurate when rested on two water glasses...
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Jan 20, 2013 at 11:54 AM. Reason: Explained DJI prop mount on balancer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:45 AM
DJI and Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar
United States, MS, Ridgeland
Joined Feb 2009
4,951 Posts
@sidneyw, SeniorSpan, & epicdream

Sidney:
I just always balance props.
The Phantom will probably fly with nothing done to the props.
I should have tried the props as is to get a comparison, but felt they were pretty unbalanced for my liking.
Sorry to be confusing novices.

Senior Span:
I've not opened the Phantom Assistant yet because I wanted to try the RTF right out of the box. (And balancing the props violated that goal)
Before I start tweaking, I'll probably get screen shots of all the settings.
And probably won't tweak much...

epicdream:
I use Scotch tape wrapped around the leading edge so that it stays down.
FWIW, on props that are just slightly out, dragging a hobby knife across the trailing edge to remove molding flash sometimes does the trick. DO NOT remove very much as you will alter the aerodynamics of the prop...
This would not have worked on any of the DJIs that I balanced.
T J Gilbert is online now Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Site Sponsor
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Jan 20, 2013 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Lake Zurich, IL
Joined Jan 2008
5,654 Posts
Hi TJ, don't get me wrong; I always balance the props and blades on my helis.
sidneyw is offline Find More Posts by sidneyw
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:04 PM
flitelab's Avatar
Canada, NS, Halifax
Joined Feb 2010
7,096 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeniorSpan View Post
T.J,

As the Phantom appears to be similar in size to the F450, curiosity is demanding I ask, can you determine what the "out of the box into the air" gain values are are set at, or did you have to do some tweaking?

Thanks

Bob
It is 350 size not 450 so more like the F330
flitelab is offline Find More Posts by flitelab
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:59 PM
Head of Production, UK. TV co
United Kingdom, Tutbury
Joined Jan 2013
25 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
We sell them and have done quite a few AP builds using them as a downlink for a camera operator: http://www.z06tony.com/Other/HexaKon...8467&k=Ktn37Cn

and for FPV use: http://www.z06tony.com/Other/HexaKon...8350&k=5WcPRgT

You cant beat it for the price and you can add many different modules-> http://www.rc-drones.com/fpv-osd.php
Cheers Tony :-)
Will Pick a set up from Midlands Heli in the morning . Any thoughts on were to pick up the required 5 V is there an open supply inside the Phantom or would you go down the route of a small BEC on the Aux power tap (at Lipo Voltage) ?
steveh1012 is offline Find More Posts by steveh1012
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 01:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Lorentzen View Post
Did a bit of flying with the latest version of the xGimbal yesterday and cut a few pieces together to see how they would stabilize on YouTube, there is a link in the youtube description to download the unstabilized video.
This was shot 1080p 60fps, so naturally the stabilized version is best in 720p
I really was pretty happy with the unstabilized result, but wanted to see if it would smooth nicely, it did. parts of this would drop nicely and inoffensively into a video project. thats exactly what I had hoped.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VnysMPINqEc

*** There is a link in the youtube description to download the unstabilized video.
Wow! Now THAT is the quality of image I would like to achieve! I'll be looking to order this xGimbal when it's ready for sale! Any idea on price?
Pfreddy is offline Find More Posts by Pfreddy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 01:31 PM
Z06 Tony's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Sep 2008
7,107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveh1012 View Post
Cheers Tony :-)
Will Pick a set up from Midlands Heli in the morning . Any thoughts on were to pick up the required 5 V is there an open supply inside the Phantom or would you go down the route of a small BEC on the Aux power tap (at Lipo Voltage) ?
Sorry I went to look and see if it was 5v or 6v you need and got side tracked. Looks like 4.3v-6.2v for the video TX.
I would either plug it into a spare RX chanel if using your own TX/RX for the easiest install or run a 6v BEC off the spare power lead coming from the Phantom if using the stock DJI TX/RX.
Z06 Tony is online now Find More Posts by Z06 Tony
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 20, 2013, 01:40 PM
Head of Production, UK. TV co
United Kingdom, Tutbury
Joined Jan 2013
25 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
Sorry I went to look and see if it was 5v or 6v you need and got side tracked. Looks like 4.3v-6.2v for the video TX.
I would either plug it into a spare RX chanel if using your own TX/RX for the easiest install or run a 6v BEC off the spare power lead coming from the Phantom if using the stock DJI TX/RX.
Great Many thanks for your time looking it up , We have deliberately kept both Phantoms as stock TX/RX and all other bits as they are our trainers for camera OPs so will go the BEC route....... better to let then stuff up a Phantom than a Spreading wings /Zenmuse /Sony NEX7 combo :-)
will post a photo or 2 of the finished rig
steveh1012 is offline Find More Posts by steveh1012
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 02:04 PM
djiusa.com / uavproducts.com
United States, MI, Goodrich
Joined Mar 2004
3,846 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pfreddy View Post
Wow! Now THAT is the quality of image I would like to achieve! I'll be looking to order this xGimbal when it's ready for sale! Any idea on price?
Working on a affordable price of course.

Plus, I think Bo is working on a iphone adapter to.
UAVProducts is offline Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 02:08 PM
HGT
Suspended Account
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Jan 2013
3,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by camera_man View Post
As Bo says it's a moldable self-setting rubber/plastic.

https://sugru.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugru
The rubber version of JB-Weld... how funny.
HGT is offline Find More Posts by HGT
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 02:22 PM
djiusa.com / uavproducts.com
United States, MI, Goodrich
Joined Mar 2004
3,846 Posts
Just ordered some of the sugru. Looks like fun.
UAVProducts is offline Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI Quadcopter Frame BUILD Thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 78 Mar 17, 2014 10:20 PM
Mini-HowTo POSTING VIDEO: How to Upgrade a Gaui 330x quadcopter with a DJI NAZA Lucidity47 Multirotor Talk 5 Jun 07, 2012 12:31 AM
Video Multiwii Quadcopter Dji F-450 frame Updated Video Anda Inc. Electric Heli Talk 1 May 23, 2012 02:51 PM
Discussion DJI S800 Spreading Wings has landed at Quadcopters UK Headquarters QuadcoptersUk Multirotor Talk 8 May 14, 2012 01:27 PM