HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 19, 2012, 08:24 PM
United States, CA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2007
169 Posts
Idea
Bill's Rudder Rules

Confused sometimes about which way to move the rudder stick to get the desired resulting aircraft response? Would you appreciate a systematic approach to learning what to do with rudder stick so you get it right every time? I present "Bill's Rudder Rules"

Preface

There are consistent, unchanging rules for rudder inputs for all RC aircraft (fixed & heli) that correlate the direction of the movement of the rudder stick on your transmitter as you're facing the aircraft and the direction in which the tail/nose of the aircraft moves as a result of the stick movements.

I'm sure other people have come up with this kind of thing before, but I've never seen it anywhere. Since I am a teacher by profession I try to distill such things into something that could be presented to a student for practice purposes. Therefore, I present you with:

Bill's Rudder Rules:

First realize that the only factors that affects what happens to an RC aircraft as a result of rudder inputs from a pilot standing on the ground are, 1) whether the aircraft is upright or inverted, and, 2) whether the aircraft is moving towards or away from the pilot. See the following:

Rule Category 1) UPRIGHT
1a. aircraft moving towards pilot
rudder stick moves tail in same direction as rudder stick movement
1b. aircraft moving away from pilot
rudder stick moves nose in same direction as rudder stick movement

Rule Category 2) INVERTED
2a. aircraft moving towards pilot
rudder stick moves nose in same direction as rudder stick movement
2b. aircraft moving away from pilot
rudder stick moves tail in same direction as rudder stick movement