HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:51 PM
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Nov 2005
163 Posts
Discussion
DJI Warranty issues???

Hey guys,

I just need to vent a bit and see if you can offer any assistance. I'm new to the multirotors and after seeing several at the flying field, I did some research and decided on purchasing a DJI F550 with the NAZA and GPS. I ordered the F550 package from Robert at UAVProducts at the end of September. My son and I built the F550 as per the instructions and had flown the F550 six times with absolutely no issues. We had everything working perfectly including the turn the transmitter off and watch it return to home perfectly.

On the 7th flight, one of the DJI 10" props broke in flight about 50 feet up. The F550 started drifting right very hard and would not respond even with full left. After about 10 seconds, the F550 flipped upside down, motors cut off and it lawn-darted in inverted. The crash broke every arm, the top plate and the GPS mount.

I had purchased a spare frame with the initial order so we rebuilt the F550 to see if the NAZA and GPS still functioned properly. The NAZA appears to work but the GPS will now not lock on. After many attempts to recalibrate the GPS it appears that the GPS is toast. The motors appear to be ok but I'm now leary of using them.

I contacted Robert at UAVProducts and he told me to contact DJI directly. DJI responded that they were sorry for my crash and told me to work the issue through Robert at UAVProducts. Since the DJI prop was the cause of the crash, I feel that DJI should replace the frame and GPS at the very least. However, since the motors hit the ground hard enough to break all of the arms, I would also like them to replace the motors as well.