SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2003, 09:36 PM
ZachW is offline
Find More Posts by ZachW
Registered User
Sulphur Springs, Texas, United States
Joined Apr 2003
22 Posts
How do you connect 2 aileron servos to your receiver?

I know this is a newbie question, but I don't really understand how you do it do you just use a y-splitter coming from normal receiver channel or what?

Thanks
Zach
ZachW is offline Find More Posts by ZachW
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2003, 09:46 PM
rc-eflyer is offline
Find More Posts by rc-eflyer
T:W>1= :>)
rc-eflyer's Avatar
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Joined May 2002
1,448 Posts
Re: How do you connect 2 aileron servos to your receiver?

Quote:
Originally posted by ZachW
I know this is a newbie question, but I don't really understand how you do it do you just use a y-splitter coming from normal receiver channel or what?

Thanks
Zach
You got it, just make sure the pushrods are on opposite
sides of the control arms so they go opposite directions.
rc-eflyer is offline Find More Posts by rc-eflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2003, 11:07 PM
ZachW is offline
Find More Posts by ZachW
Registered User
Sulphur Springs, Texas, United States
Joined Apr 2003
22 Posts
AHH

Ahh, thanks, that makes since now, I was trying to figure out how you were suppossed to get the servos going in operations, but obviously you don't actually have to do that.

Thanks,
Zach
ZachW is offline Find More Posts by ZachW
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 01:54 AM
rorywquin is offline
Find More Posts by rorywquin
Turbines suck ;-)
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Mar 2000
1,636 Posts
Depends on your transmitter as well !! Yours transmitter may have a facility for dual aileron servos! Then you will plug each servo into the receiver and set it up on the TX! I believe that there are y leads available that reverse the servo on one side as well!!
rorywquin is offline Find More Posts by rorywquin
Last edited by rorywquin; Dec 10, 2003 at 01:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 07:55 AM
Steve_Bennington is offline
Find More Posts by Steve_Bennington
Registered User
Steve_Bennington's Avatar
King's Lynn,Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
423 Posts
Some servos, even the same make and model will operate in different directions.. a quick look inside will confirm if the motor/feedback pot connections are reversed... We came accross this one on a dual servo elevator setup...

If you cannot use the other side of the servo arm, then you can get 'intelligent' Y leads with built in reverser, or use your TX like Rory Said. Look for a flaperon mix, with flap trim, but disable any flap mix, unless you want that movement too.....

Regards,

Steve
Steve_Bennington is offline Find More Posts by Steve_Bennington
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 10:45 AM
mkirsch1 is offline
Find More Posts by mkirsch1
Registered User
United States, NY, Spencerport
Joined Oct 2001
2,801 Posts
Steve,

It's not normal for two otherwise identical servos to rotate in opposite directions given the same signal. Unless you are buying used servos from a questionable source, or modify them yourself, you are 99.99999999999999999% assured that two identical servos will rotate in the same direction given the same signal.
mkirsch1 is offline Find More Posts by mkirsch1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 12:16 PM
Steve_Bennington is offline
Find More Posts by Steve_Bennington
Registered User
Steve_Bennington's Avatar
King's Lynn,Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
423 Posts
Mkirsch1,
Agreed, we didn't believe it possible either, but 3 of us all had a mix of servos, some went one way, some another.. all from different sources too!

Regards,

Steve
Steve_Bennington is offline Find More Posts by Steve_Bennington
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 09:16 AM
ChrisP is offline
Find More Posts by ChrisP
Master
ChrisP's Avatar
Weilbach, Germany
Joined May 2001
2,486 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve_Bennington
3 of us all had a mix of servos, some went one way, some another......
Me too.

Chris P
ChrisP is offline Find More Posts by ChrisP
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 09:55 AM
jbc455 is offline
Find More Posts by jbc455
**********
jbc455's Avatar
San Jose, California
Joined Jan 2002
1,199 Posts
Re: AHH

Quote:
Originally posted by ZachW
Ahh, thanks, that makes since now, I was trying to figure out how you were suppossed to get the servos going in operations, but obviously you don't actually have to do that.

Thanks,
Zach
I just flip one servo over and put the arm on the other side. Easiest way I can describe it!

John
jbc455 is offline Find More Posts by jbc455
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2003, 10:00 AM
Greebe is offline
Find More Posts by Greebe
radar jammer
Greebe's Avatar
Bradenton, Florida
Joined May 2003
563 Posts
Also reversing the motor and feedback potentiometer outer leads will do this without the need of a servo reversing Y cable

As above, quality known good servo's help here too

There are a few other tricks that can be done to equalize most all differences in travel
Greebe is offline Find More Posts by Greebe
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2003, 12:27 AM
OUAndy1807 is offline
Find More Posts by OUAndy1807
You're a nerd.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Joined Aug 2003
441 Posts
?

Wouldn't you need a mixer for this? That's how I overcame this problem.
OUAndy1807 is offline Find More Posts by OUAndy1807
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2003, 03:29 AM
Greebe is offline
Find More Posts by Greebe
radar jammer
Greebe's Avatar
Bradenton, Florida
Joined May 2003
563 Posts
nope not neccessary... there are some additional things that can be done to match their rates too
Greebe is offline Find More Posts by Greebe
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you connect your batts in parallel? azfrench Batteries and Chargers 2 Sep 21, 2004 03:27 PM
how to connect 2 aileron servos?? BIFFSTER Radios 3 Oct 16, 2003 10:39 PM
How do I hook up 2 aileron servos? crashandburn Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 6 Sep 09, 2003 09:48 AM
HOw Do YOu Connect Your BrushlessTo Speed Control? stuka Power Systems 12 Jun 10, 2003 08:48 AM