Old Dec 09, 2003, 08:50 AM
"SARGE"
Fairfax Station, (Northern) Virginia
Joined Jun 2003
3,150 Posts
Rave
Unicorn Wing Building Process Underway!

Updates: 10/13/06

1. Keep in mind this build thread uses the older lighter motor tube. Be extra careful to perform trial COG balancing early in the build with the battery packs you intend to use.

2. Here is a link to an EZ Star build thread. The EZ is a great plane for new flyers as well as old timers and can be tossed in the back seat with your Unicorn.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=350408

I recently received my Unicorn and examined all the parts. I have opened this thread to post various stages of Unicorn construction, including some pictures. I welcome any comments, ideas, encouragement, and insight along the way.

I have a completed Combat Wings XE2 Aveox Brushless that was fun to build and even more fun to fly. Since I have both, comparisons will be made from time to time and kept in a positive nature.

The Unicorn appears to be a good deal. For $50 bucks you get EPP precision precut wings, 3 graphite spars, horns, rods, connectors, motor mount tube/ motor retainer, motor tube covering, good instruction book, and a roll of single strand strapping tape.

I’ve noticed the Unicorn leading and trailing edges are sharper than the XE2. The Unicorn wing is narrower than the XE2, especially, as you move towards the wing tips. The Unicorn's extra spars should help keep the wings stiff and prevent “Zagi” flap.

After listening to all the battery bay hype, I see the battery compartment on the Unicorn is just as far forward as the XE2. Strapping tape reinforcement on the nose seems to be a good idea for the Unicorn too.

Initial Unicorn building plan:

1. Use crisscrossed fiber strapping tape rather than single strand tape provided.
2. Coat motor tube with 3m77 spray and reinforce with strapping tape.
3. Reinforce Motor tube spar hole with plastic tube glued with marine goop.