HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2013, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Deutschland, Hessen, LA
Joined Jan 2009
1,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich in ILM View Post
Only arguing the fact that the box and the module have the CE mark on them, not if it is proper.
But, again, the CE mark is on the box and on the module itself.
But this help in this case nothing.
You need CE! and a number from a notified body on the modul. Additionally required is the declaration of conformity.
Kambalunga is online now Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 03, 2013, 12:35 PM
Registered User
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Jun 2007
341 Posts
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???

Thank you,
Codimasta
AMA 11269
Codimasta is online now Find More Posts by Codimasta
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 12:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2010
564 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???
It's working fine for me on DSMX with a Blade Nano chopper.
aesmith is offline Find More Posts by aesmith
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2013, 12:52 PM
Ain't crashing often anymore
mikefromgermany's Avatar
Germany, Berlin
Joined Jun 2012
3,323 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange
No problems with a MCPX BL and a MQX (new board)
-mike-
mikefromgermany is offline Find More Posts by mikefromgermany
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 03, 2013, 01:19 PM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Deutschland, Hessen, LA
Joined Jan 2009
1,197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codimasta View Post
Has anyone had any problems using the orange module on DSMX ???

Thank you,
Codimasta
AMA 11269
It might be that ...

http://www.rc-heli.de/board/showpost...2&postcount=67

http://translate.google.com/translat...postcount%3D67
Kambalunga is online now Find More Posts by Kambalunga
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 02:01 PM
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Philippines, NCR, Pasig City
Joined Nov 2012
723 Posts
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
Su-33 is online now Find More Posts by Su-33
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: A cheap way to measure Kv
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 11:07 PM
wjs
William
United States, MI, Brighton
Joined Oct 2012
1,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
Having wanting to do this in past, I can only say to get a spektrum training box and use the normal cable. Saves you aggrevation in the end and less cord junk to store and carry. A Dx5e is only $59 and is dual use. One you have trainer box, two a Phonex Sim box, and three a spare TX, or one for the kids. IMHO, get the box and normal trainer cable. If you get a RTF bird with a DX5e included, it probably even cheaper. Might have a look on feeBay also.
wjs is offline Find More Posts by wjs
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 06:50 AM
59 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
Can anyone tell me if its possible to use this http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...taba-HAN173#t1 to make the futaba a slave and make the channel assignment correct?? Electronic experts pls help!
No direct experience with that unit, but according to the claims it should do the job. To match JR to Futaba for trainer use, three things are needed: (1) connectors that fit each transmitter; (2) electronics to match the different signal levels; (3) electronics to change the channel sequence (JR uses TAER vs Futaba AETR).
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 07:08 AM
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Philippines, NCR, Pasig City
Joined Nov 2012
723 Posts
sorry i should have put that can you use it to connect it to the orange module and get the correct channel sequences .
ex: futaba tx --> to trainer link--->orx module
Su-33 is online now Find More Posts by Su-33
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: A cheap way to measure Kv
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 07:43 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Sep 2006
4,476 Posts
The description on that part is pretty scarce... nothing mentions if it swaps channels or not.
Kilrah is offline Find More Posts by Kilrah
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 04:20 PM
We want... Information!
Bruce Abbott's Avatar
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,182 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah View Post
The description on that part is pretty scarce... nothing mentions if it swaps channels or not.
"Lets you link with your JR radio with almost any Futaba or JR radio for training purposes".

They wouldn't say that if it didn't, because then you would not be able to use it as intended (and yes, it really does swap the channels). This is one of the differences between properly designed equipment and Chinese clone crap.

The only problem with using it to correct the channel order of the Orange TX module is that the JR trainer port signal is low level (~1.4V) and AC coupled. The ppm input circuit in the Orange module looks like it might be able to recognize the signal that the HAN173 cable puts out, but as this is not its intended use you shouldn't be surprised if it doesn't work!
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
30 Posts
Hey guys - I hope I'm not hijacking this thread. I think my question is directly along the lines of the current discussion. If not - I apologize and will happily start a new thread.

I'm tempted to use the orange TX module on my Futaba TX. My Futaba does not use a removable RF module. I figured I could take the signal from the trainer output and send it to the Orange TX module. Can anyone tell me whether this will work? Is the trainer signal protocol on the Futaba the right protocol? Right voltage levels?

Thanks!
spork is offline Find More Posts by spork
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 09:51 AM
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Philippines, NCR, Pasig City
Joined Nov 2012
723 Posts
it would work depending on the tx check this--->http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfdCuRmx0jc i'm planing to do this too.

btw whats your tx?
Su-33 is online now Find More Posts by Su-33
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: A cheap way to measure Kv
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by su33seaflanker View Post
btw whats your tx?
Thanks. I have the Futaba T7CHP. If I understand, using this module will reverse two of the channels - right? And I presume that shouldn't be a problem if I use this receiver:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Failsafe.html

because I can just swap the servo leads into the respective slots - right?

And one last question - how important is a satellite receiver?

Thanks again.
spork is offline Find More Posts by spork
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2013, 12:47 PM
Su-27's Rule!
Su-33's Avatar
Philippines, NCR, Pasig City
Joined Nov 2012
723 Posts
Ok i think you can make the module work on the 7c

But as you noted yes the channel sequence would be all wrong so you can't use it on bnfs
Pls note that the channel sequence is futaba=aetr vs jr/spektrum would be taer so changing the servo slots would work and the satelite reciver would not be needed

Ps if you need extra info PM numnutchris here at rcgroups

Sorry..can't speak about how important the satelite is but from what i know you dont need it
Su-33 is online now Find More Posts by Su-33
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Su-33; Mar 11, 2013 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion HobbyKing Orange Rx DSM, any problems/complaints? big_poppa4904 Radios 26 Aug 12, 2013 03:08 AM
For Sale Blade sr dsm tx hp6dsm and blade 120 sr tx Garrett1234567 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Nov 08, 2012 03:46 PM
For Sale Spektrum Telemetry TM1000's, TM1100's,AR6000 DSM2, 4 New Orange DSM 2 Receivers, daign FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jun 02, 2012 02:26 PM
Sold Brand New Orange DSM 2 Satellite Receivers healthyfatboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 9 May 06, 2012 03:17 PM
Sold Mint Spektrum DX6i, DSM 2 with 6ch Orange RX tankbuster Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Apr 06, 2012 07:39 AM