HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:30 PM
Joined Aug 2012
44 Posts
Help!
Help starting OS 40

I am trying to get an Os 40 running. Originally it started and sputtered for a few seconds but I could not get it running. Now after reading forums and trying to adjust I can't get it to even sputter.
It has the airbleed low end needle. Adjusted to halfway blocking the opening.
The high end has been adjusted to blowing into the tube until it free flows.
New glowplug and fuel is fresh.

I have tried different throttle settings and have had no luck. Which is why I am asking for help here now as I am a novice. I have read some posts about tuning. But I can't get it started to get that far.
The only clue I have to go on, is that while trying to start the engine. It is spitting out rusty colored fuel out of the exhaust. Do I need to soak the engine in the crockpot with anitifreeze? This seemed to work before , for me on another engine. Or are there better ways to tuning the airbleed low end settings?
thanks as usual for the help!!!!
SYRFD is offline Find More Posts by SYRFD
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:50 PM
Joined Oct 2004
1,101 Posts
Two stroke or four stroke 40?
706jim is online now Find More Posts by 706jim
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:00 PM
Joined Aug 2012
44 Posts
2 stroke
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:10 PM
United States, NC, Locust
Joined Jul 2001
179 Posts
Consider removing the glow plug, and giving a squirt of fuel into the engine. With the plug still out, and the engine inverted, spin the prop either by hand or with a starter. This should flush out any of the old oil and give you a good starting point. If you continue to see rusty oil, especially while running, you will need to replace the bearings soon.
zx32tt is offline Find More Posts by zx32tt
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:32 PM
Joined Feb 2008
348 Posts