HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2008
82 Posts
Discussion
Dx10t DSMX Power On to signal

Hi,

On my Dx10t I am facing a strange one with the standard 10 channel receiver...
Behaviour: Receiver goes to fail safe before connecting 1/2 - 1 sec later
How to recreate:
- power up transmitter
- power up receiver
- servos go to fail safe
Setup notes:
- dx10t - latest firmware
- 10 channel rec. with satellites
- tm1000 telemetry with temp, voltage, and brushless rpm sensors
I just want to confirm if this is normal...

I am running the gear in DMSX mode, just a little surprised in the latency at turn on, and the fall back to fail safe.

Cheers,
AP
powella is online now Find More Posts by powella
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:56 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,089 Posts
The RF decks do take a little time to come to life.

You know they are transmitting with the LED comes on. If you can wait an extra second or two before turning on the rx, you will be fine.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,513 Posts
There is nothing really abnormal about this.All Rxs are designed to go to failsafe positions when powered on until they actually determine everything is good and they connect.1/2 to 1 sec between powerup to connection isnt abnormal either.
I have a few setups that pause momentarily between powerup and connection.
Many are mostly instantaneous.There could be many reasons for this.I really dont think its an inherent problem with anything.I kind of did some testing on one I had that seemed to take a couple secs to initially connect.They reconnect instantaneously after a momentary powerloss "brownout" or a forced "hold". Thats what is important. It kind of makes sense to me that the higher function Rxs may take a little more time to initialize.If it was a huge amount of time I might be concerned but a second or 2 doesnt seem to me to be a problem.If any amount of time elapses on a reconnect would be concerned.I have yet to see that situation so I dont worry about it.
aerocal is online now Find More Posts by aerocal
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:10 PM
Registered User
Slovenia
Joined Jan 2009
63 Posts
In fact it is quite big problem. Which is caused by lack of two fail safe settings in Spektrum receivers. They don't have option to leave individual channel at it's current position and others in predefined position. This can lead in very bad situation with gear servos. Take this situation. I broke several servo gears and retract doors when I forgot to raise gear on my 6,5 m 20 kg glider, before I switched it off. After a break I switch it on and ... You can imagine what happened. Same thing happened to my friends large scale Mustang. After long time being Spektrum user, I recently migrated to other system (European) among other things, also because Spektrum failed to develop TX modules in DSMX.
alfasud is offline Find More Posts by alfasud
Last edited by alfasud; Nov 13, 2012 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 06:16 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,089 Posts
You bound your plane with the gear up?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:17 AM
Registered User
Slovenia
Joined Jan 2009
63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
You bound your plane with the gear up?

Andy
Of course! Towing coupler disengaged, all other surfaces to neutral and elevator one tick up. Point is that massive FEMA retract has mass of moving parts of cca 600g. When fail safe is activated on receiver prior the connection is established, retract is moved at full speed up and down, depending of its current position. And if you fail to support the plane with one hand, disaster is here. Now, imagine massive hydraulic retract of my college's 3,5 m Mustang.
You can program receiver of some other brands, and set both fail safe position and delay on individual channel.
alfasud is offline Find More Posts by alfasud
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:04 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,089 Posts
Around here with program failsafe to gear DOWN. Aside from preventing damage on startup, it also provides a visual indication of signal loss vs. power loss should you ever have that misfortune. I've never seen it activate in the air, but that's the idea.

All my planes with retracts get powered up either inverted or on a stand. This is because we transport them retracted.

I guess setting your failsafes to FAIL into a SAFE position would improve your results.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:26 AM
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Apr 2004
1,148 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfasud View Post
In fact it is quite big problem. Which is caused by lack of two fail safe settings in Spektrum receivers. They don't have option to leave individual channel at it's current position and others in predefined position. This can lead in very bad situation with gear servos. DSMX.
There are a number of Spektrum receivers that can be Bound for either Failsafe Hold or Failsafe Preset.

When I have had aircraft with Retracts and wanted the gear Retracted as the Failsafe Preset, I would be sure the aircraft was supported off the ground on Power up, since the gear would cycle. I have since decided that having the Failsafe Preset to Gear Down, was more convenient.
Buschbarber is offline Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question DSMX/DSM2- TX always sends both signals? CNY_Dave Radios 9 Jul 29, 2012 07:13 PM
Discussion Reducing Tx output signal power asaad_civic99 Radios 6 Jun 04, 2012 10:10 AM
Question Will powering servo without signal keep it in position? Protocrash FPV Talk 1 May 23, 2012 11:10 PM
Discussion DX7 loses signal,42'' Slick dead!Tx powers up,no signal? evalith8 3D Flying 4 Jan 27, 2011 02:27 PM
Does berg5 DSPII cut power on signal loss? Tom Frank Castle Creations 10 Jul 12, 2005 02:29 PM