HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:46 AM
cadmac
United Kingdom
Joined Feb 2011
20 Posts
Discussion
Newbie in trouble already............

Could someone help or advise a complete newbie to FPV. I've spent many weeks learning as much as I can before taking the plunge and ordering a 5.8G vTx and vRx and camera (decided to take many people's advice here and start with the basics).

So the parts from Foxtech duly arrived and I connected everything up ok, and using a 'video to VGA' converter, turned on my old Dell 15 inch computer monitor (that I had powered up via a 3s lipo) hoping to get a pretty good image from the camera. But the picture is so very 'grainy', images can only just be made out. So my question is should the camera I've got be capable of displaying on a 15 inch monitor or is a 7 or 8 inch monitor the only way to go?

I've tried switching to every channel available but don't get any improvements when I try that. Also have tried indoors and outside thinking maybe the lighting wasn't good enough indoors!
I've also tried using a 15 inch TV monitor that doesn't require the video converter and the picture is still terrible, no different to the computer monitor.

Parts I've got are:
FOXTECH 5.8G 200mw tx/rx
FH 32 HQ1 540 tvl day/night camera PAL
(Image Sensor: 1 / 3 "SONY Super HAD CCD / Effective Pixels: PAL: 792 (H) × 698 (V) / Sensing Area: 4.8mm × 3.6mm / Signal System: PAL / NTSC / Horizontal Resolution: 540 TV lines / Minimum illumination: 0.2Lux/F1.2 )

Thanks
Tim.
plus4 is offline Find More Posts by plus4
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:01 AM
Discovery
Joined Apr 2012
223 Posts
Could you show us a picture of the image displaying on the monitor,

also pay attention to the channels of this kit, as they are a bit funky to guess
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1587277

Be sure the rx and tx are on the same channel
ulkar is offline Find More Posts by ulkar
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:29 PM
cadmac
United Kingdom